Skip to main content

Music Citations: Turabian/Chicago Style: Citing M2s: Monuments of Music Scores

This guide will assist with formatting music citations using the Turabian/Chicago style. For more info, consult Turabian Manual: MUS REFPN203.T8 2007 or consult Chicago Manual online at: http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/16/contents.html

General Examples: Chicago 14.123

B: Eccles, John. Semele: An Opera. Edited by Richard Platt. Music Britannica: A National Collection of Music 76. London: Stainer and Bell, 2000.

N: 1Carlo Pallavicino, La Gerusalemme liberata, ed. Hermann Abert, Denkmäler deutscher Tonkunst 55 (Leipzig: Breitkopf & Härtel, 1916).

  • Follow the citation convention for citing a book in a series. See section 14.123 in the Chicago Manual https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.or
  • Bibliography general order of elements: Composer Last Name, First Name. Title of Score Volume. Edited by First Name Last Name. Title of Series (followed by) #. City: Publisher, Year.
  • Note: The editor of the series is usually omitted. Series is not italicized. "Vol." is not necessary unless there is more than one number/part.

No Editor for Volume: Turabian 17.1.5

B: MachautGuillaume de. The Works of Guillaume de Machaut. Polyphonic Music of the Fourteenth Century, edited by Leo Schradevols. 2-3*. Monaco: Editions de l'Oiseau-Lyre, 1956.

N: 1Guillaume de MachautThe Works of Guillaume de Machaut, Polyphonic Music of the Fourteenth Century, ed. Leo Schradevols. 2-3* (Monaco: Editions de l'Oiseau-Lyre, 1956).

*Since the works of Machaut span the 2nd and 3rd volumes of the series, we acknowledge both volumes by inserting "2-3."

  • If you cannot locate the editor of the volume on a title page, see if the volume has a foreword or introduction.
  • The author of introductory comments is usually the editor of the volume.
  • If there is still no volume editor, you can insert a series editor name after the series title. If your citation includes both a series editor and a volume number, insert the volume number after the series editor name, preceded by "vol."
  • Bibliographic general order of elements: Composer Last Name, First Name. Title of Score Volume. Title of Series, edited by First Name Last Name, #. City: Publisher, Year.
  • Note: Series is not italicized. 

Volume is from a Sub-Series and Series

B: Finck, Heinrich. MessenMotetten und deutsche Lieder. Edited by Lothar Hoffmann-Erbrecht and Helmut Lomnitzer. Das Erbe deutscher Musik 70. Frankfurt: C.F. Peters, 1981.

  • The above volume is from a subseries of Das Erbe deutscher Musik. The subseries is called Ausgewaehlte Werke einzelner Meister. Within the subseries, this Finck volume is #8. However, a reader does not need to know about the subseries and the subseries volume number in order to locate the item, so subseries information is omitted from the citation. Instead, we only include information about the overall series (Das Erbe) and its volume, which is 70.
  • However, if you must cite a score that will be difficult for a user to find without extra information about a subseries, subseries volume number, or part number, go ahead and include it in the citation.
  • Generally, information about a subseries does not need to be included in a citation. In most cases, the main series title and its volume number give enough information for the reader to be able to locate the volume.

No Clear Composer is Present

If no single composer is associated with the score you are citing, begin with the title of the volume instead. 

B: Liber missarum. Edited by Rex Eakins. Collected Works, vol. 17, no 3. Ottawa: The Institute of Mediaeval Music, 2001.

  • For the above citation, the title page included "Vol. XVII/3." For the citation, this converts to: vol. 17, no. 3.

Citing Just One Piece from a Collection: Turabian 17.1.8.3

B: Schneider, Friedrich. Die Jarhreszeiten. Text by T.L.A. Heinroth. In Topical Song Cycles of the Early Nineteenth Century. Edited by Ruth O. Bingham. Recent Researches in the Music of the Nineteenth and Early Twentieth Centuries, 37. Madison, WI: A-R Editions, 2003.

N: 1Friedrich Schneider, Die Jarhreszeiten, text by T.L.A. Heinroth, in Topical Song Cycles of the Early Nineteenth Century, ed. Ruth O. Bingham, Recent Researches in the Music of the Nineteenth and Early Twentieth Centuries, 37 (Madison, WI: A-R Editions, 2003).

  • If you refer to only one piece within a volume that contains multiple compositions, enter the composition title before the individual volume title.
  • If the composition is a song, surround the title in quotation marks.
  • If the composition is a substantial work, such as a song cycle, full mass, symphony, etc, italicize the title.

Movement or Section from Whole Piece: Turabian 17.1.8.1

B: Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. Cosi fan tutte. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozarte neue Ausgabe sämtlicher Werke, series 2, workgroup 5, vol. 18, parts 1 and 2. Edited by Faye Ferguson and Wolfgang Rehm. Kassel: Bärenreiter, 1991.

B: Haydn, Joseph. Konzerte für Violoncello und Orchester. Joseph Haydn Werke, series 3, vol. 2. Edited by Sonja Gerlach. München: G. Henle, 1981.

B: Schumann, Robert. 3. Symphonie, Opus 97. Robert Schumann neue Ausgabe sämtlicher Werke, series 1, workgroup 1, vol. 3. Edited by Linda Correll Roesner. Mainz: Schott, 1995.

For footnotes, you know what to do: change to First Name Last, replace periods with commas, replace “Edited by” with “ed.” or “eds.” and put publication information in parentheses.

  • If your volume contains a whole opera but your paper only concerns one aria, then indicate the aria in your footnote, using the "Chapters and Essays" tab above to inform your citation.
  • You'll also want to do this if your volume contains two concertos and you're only concerned with one, or if you're only concerned with one movement from a symphony, etc.
  • In other words: cite the whole in the bibliography, but add the "part" in your footnote.
  • An aria should go in quotation marks. But whole compositions or movements can stand alone.

Tips!

Scores from Collected Editions

Use the title page in your volume to gain information such as Series, Workgroup, editor(s), etc. Keep titles in their original language and italicize. Use sentence style capitalization--for example, in German, nouns are capitalized, verbs and adjectives are not.  

After the title, go ahead and translate foreign terms to English. 

  • Reihe = series.
  • Band = volume. 
  • Werkgrupp = workgroup. 
  • Teilband = part. Replace

Roman numerals with regular numbers: Series 2, NOT Series II.

If there is more than one city listed, choose the first one. "Vorgelegt von" or "herausgegeben von" (edited by) is where you locate editor names.

You'll notice that Series and Workgroup often have accompanying genres/titles.

  • For example, Series II: Bühnenwerke, and Werkgruppe 5: Opern und Singspiele. You can leave these titles off. series 2 and workgroup 5 suffice.

For further examples, please consult: Kate L. Turabian, A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 9th ed., rev. by Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, Joseph M. Williams, et al. (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2018).