Skip to main content

Music Citations: Turabian/Chicago Style: Grove, Encyclopedias, and Dictionaries

This guide will assist with formatting music citations using the Turabian/Chicago style. For more info, consult Turabian Manual: MUS REFPN203.T8 2007 or consult Chicago Manual online at: http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/16/contents.html

Citation Format: Grove Music Online*

Deane Root is the editor for Grove Online.

B: Entry's Author Last Name, First. "Title of entry." Grove Music Online. Edited by Deane Root. Accessed Day Month, Year. http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com.

B: Strickland, Edward. "Glass, Philip." Grove Music Online. Edited by Deane Root. Accessed 1 October, 2016. http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com.

F: Edward Stickland, "Glass, Philip," Grove Music Online, ed. Deane Root, accessed 1 October, 2016, http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com.

Citation Format: Grove in Print*

Citation Format, New Grove in Print | B = Bibliography | F = Footnote

B: Article Author Last Name, First. "Title of Article." The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Edited by Stanley Sadie and J. Tyrrell. London: Macmillan, 2001. Volume: page number.

B: Strickland, Edward. "Glass, Philip." The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell. London: Macmillan, 2001. ix: 932-936.

F: ¹Article Author First Name Last, "Title of Article," The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, eds. Stanley Sadie and J. Tyrell (London: Macmillan, 2001), Volume, page number.

F¹Edward Strickland, "Glass, Philip," The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, eds. Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (London: Macmillan, 2001), ix: 934.

Citation Format--Unsigned Entries: Turabian 17.9.1

B with Editor: Title of Dictionary or Encyclopedia. Edited by First Name Last. Edition information. City: Publisher, Year.

Example: Baker’s Biographical Dictionary of Musicians. Edited by Nicholas Slonimsky. Centennial ed. New York: Schirmer Books, 2001.

B with Author: Author Last Name, First. Title of Dictionary or Encyclopedia. Edition information. City: Publisher, Year.

N with Editor: 1Title of Dictionary or Encyclopedia, ed. First Name Last, Edition information (City: Publisher, Year), s.v. “word or term used.”

Example: 1Baker’s Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, ed. Nicholas Slonimsky, Centennial ed. (New York: Schirmer Books, 2011), s.v. “Bartok, Bela.”

N with Author: 1Author First Name Last, Title of Dictionary or Encyclopedia, Edition information (City: Publisher, Year), s.v. “word or term used.”

Citation Format--Signed Entries: Turabian 17.9.1

If the entry/article is signed, then you may include the author's name in the footnote (N) citation. Instead of using "s.v.," enter the name of the article in quotation marks. This will be the case for the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music.

Note: Grove Music does not qualify here. Please see the Grove Music tab above for that citation format.

B: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. Edited by Brunio Nettl and Ruth Stone. New York: Garland, 1998-2002.

N: 1Johannes Tall, “Estonia,” in The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, eds. Bruno Nettl and Ruth M. Stone (New York: Garland, 1998-2002).

*Grove is Special!

Grove Music gets its very own example because it's special. Grove calls itself a dictionary, but functions like an encyclopedia, yet features signed articles by experts in their fields. The citation format provided here is a hybrid of the journal article style and the signed article encyclopedia style.

Signed vs. Unsigned

An entry is unsigned when there is no separate author listed for it.  Most dictionaries and encyclopedias have unsigned articles. Examples include Baker's Dictionary of Music, and The Penguin Encyclopedia of Popular Music.  Signed entries list individual author names for each entry/article.  Use the signed entry format for the The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music.

Tips!

When citing a dictionary or encyclopedia with unsigned entries, indicate the word or term you used by including it in the footnote (N), preceded by "s.v." (sub verbo).  However, you do not need to include that information in the bibliographic (B) citation.  If there are multiple editions which exist, be sure to indicate which edition you are using (2nd ed., rev. ed., etc.).  There is no need to indicate volume numbers or page numbers.

**If you are citing from Grove Online or New Grove in print, use the Grove tab (left)*

For further examples, please consult: Kate L. Turabian, A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 9th ed., rev. by Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, Joseph M. Williams, et al. (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2018).