Skip to main content

Music Citations: Turabian/Chicago Style: Online and Social Media

This guide will assist with formatting music citations using the Turabian/Chicago style. For more info, consult Turabian Manual: MUS REFPN203.T8 2007 or consult Chicago Manual online at: http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/16/contents.html

Turabian Location

For more information, see A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Eighth Edition​, by Kate L. Turabian. Turabian Notes-Bibliography Style: Turabian Notes-Bibliography Style: Websites 17.7.1

What to include?

You may not be able to find complete citation information for every website. Try to include as much of the following as you can:

  • Author(s)
  • Title of the page (in quotes)
  • Title or owner of the site
  • Access date
  • The date the site was last modified
  • URL

Website Evaulation

Citation Format B=bibliography N=footnote

 

B: Lacoste, Debra, Jan Koláček, and Kate Helsen. "Liberasti enim me apressura." Cantus: A Database for Latin Ecclesiastical Chant. Accessed January 23, 2015. http://cantusdatabase.org/id/001235za.

B: Corigliano, John. "Symphony No. 1 (1988)." John Corigliano. Accessed July 22, 2016. http://www.johncorigliano.com/index.php?p=item2&sub=cat&item=13.

F: 1. Debra Lacoste, Jan Koláček, and Kate Helsen, "Liberasti enim me apressura," Cantus: A Database for Latin Ecclesiastical Chant, accessed January 23, 2015, http://cantusdatabase.org/id/001235za.

F: 2. John Corigliano, "Symphony No. 1 (1988)," John Corigliano, July 22, 2016, http://www.johncorigliano.com/index.php?p=item2&sub=cat&item=13.

* You do not need to list websites in your bibliography unless they are critical to your argument and/or frequently cited.

Online Videos

B: “IBM's Watson Wins Person of the Year at the 15th Annual Webby Awards.” YouTube video, 2:47. Posted by "TheWebbyAwards," June 13, 2011. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=makDyycHvmw&feature=fvhl.

Video, with a principle subject, from an online source other than YouTube:​

Harwood, John. “The Pros and Cons of Biden.” New York Times video, 2:00. August 23, 2008. http://video.on.nytimes.com/?fr_story=a425c9aca92f51bd19f2a621fd93b5e266507191.

N: “IBM's Watson Wins Person of the Year at the 15th Annual Webby Awards,” YouTube video, 2:47, posted by "TheWebbyAwards," June 13, 2011, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=makDyycHvmw&feature=fvhl.

*This video has no principle subject or interviewer names, hence it begins with the title of the video

Video, with a principle subject, from an online source other than YouTube:
John Harwood, “The Pros and Cons of Biden,” New York Times video, 2:00, August 23, 2008, http://video.on.nytimes.com/?fr_story=a425c9aca92f51bd19f2a621fd93b5e266507191.

Social Media

Twitter:

B: DePauw Libraries (@DePauwLibraries). Twitter post. February 27, 2018. 2:02 p.m. Accessed March 1, 2018. https://twitter.com/DePauwLibraries.

N: DePauw Libraries, Twitter post, August 25, 2011 (10:23 p.m.), accessed September 4, 2011, https://twitter.com/DePauwLibraries.

*Like e-mail and text messages, comments posted on a social networking service may be cited in running text ("In a message posted to her Twitter account on August 25, 2011, . . .") instead of in a note, and they are rarely listed in a bibliography. The following example shows the more formal version of a note.

Facebook:

B: "DePauw University Libraries Facebook Page." Facebook.com. Last modified July 25, 2014. https://www.facebook.com/DePauwLibraries.

N: DePauw University Libraries Facebook page, accessed July 28, 2014, https://www.facebook.com/DePauwLibraries.

Comments on a Facebook Page:

N: Comment on DePauw University Libraries Facebook page, September 1, 2014 (3:06 p.m.), accessed September 15, 2014, https://www.facebook.com/DePauwLibraries.

*Comments are not usually given a bibliographic entry.

Librarian Information

Sylvia Yang's picture
Sylvia Yang
Contact:
Have a quick question? Feel free to message me on google chat: zouayang@depauw.edu
765-658-4442
Website

Blog Entry or Comment

B: Ross, Alex. "Music As a Weapon." The Rest Is Noise (blog). June 27, 2016. Accessed July 1, 2016. http://www.therestisnoise.com/2016/06/music-as-a-weapon.html.

N: Alex Ross, "Music As a Weapon," The Rest Is Noise (blog), June 27, 2016, accessed July 1, 2016, http://www.therestisnoise.com/2016/06/music-as-a-weapon.html.

If the title makes it clear that it is a blog, do not include (blog).

  • For example: The Collaborative Piano Blog

E-mail or Text Message

E-mail and text messages may be cited in running text ("In a text message to the author on July 21, 2012, John Doe revealed . . .") instead of in a note, and they are rarely listed in a bibliography. The following example shows the more formal version of a note.*

Ex: John Doe, e-mail message to author, July 21, 2012.

*If you decide that you want to include a citation for an E-mail or Text Message please let me know and we can format it together!