Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faces Behind The Places of DePauw University

This guide includes historical information about the people behind DePauw University's building names.

Overview

This guide includes historical information about the people behind DePauw University's building names. Content creation began in 2015 under the guidance of Wesley W. Wilson and Taylor Zartman. The Archives continues to add to this guide on a regular basis. Several buildings have not yet been included.

Additional Resources

Documents and Photographs
The DePauw University Archives Documents and Photographs collection consists of documents and images from the University, the local community and the Indiana United Methodist Church. Included are campus scenes, events, museum objects, people and faculty publications listings from about 1850 to the present. Highlights include the Ralph Taylor collection, a longtime Greencastle studio photographer.

DePauw Publications
University Publications include The DePauw, Indiana's oldest college newspaper, and the DePauw Magazine, the University's alumni publication. The DePauw has been digitized with full-text searching back to 1970. Full issues are also available from 1932 to 1969 with selected-headline indexing only.

Media
The Archives Media Collection contains audio recordings of campus events, interviews, radio programs, music recitals and presentations given by visiting speakers and faculty. These digital recordings were made from a variety of early audio media including reel to reel tapes and LP phonograph discs dating back to the 1940s.

Putnam County Newspapers
Includes digitized copies of local newspapers from 1837-1974. Search/browse other Indiana Historic Newspapers from the Hoosier State Chronicles. 

Methodist Publications
The Hoosier United Methodist and Hoosier United Methodists Together are monthly newspapers published by the Indiana Conference of the United Methodist Church since 1971. They contain articles about people and activities of the church and its congregations.

Indexes and Directories
Putnam County, Indiana census information (1830-1930); historical Asbury University and DePauw University Board of Trustees database; Hoosier United Methodist News index; Ministers' appointments; Indiana United Methodist Church foundings, mergers and closings; Indiana Methodist Episcopal Ministers appointments and etc.

Archived Websites 
Captured websites and online content documenting the growth and development of DePauw University and the Indiana United Methodist Church.

DePauw: A Pictorial History

Ancestry.com Institution

Historical DePauw University Faculty and Staff Directory