Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Indiana United Methodist Church

Historical information about the United Methodist Church. Indiana United Methodist Church records transfer instructions. Indiana United Methodist Historical Society information.

Step 1: Guidelines for Managing Records of the Local Church

Guidelines for Managing Records of the Local Church
This manual was created by the General Conference on Archives and History in 2017. It provides information on records management, storage and suggested retention schedules for records. This guide should be referenced before the transfer of records to the DePauw University Archives and Special Collections.
On page 29, a detailed table is available to aid in record series titles, descriptions, and specific retention information. 

Guidelines for Managing Electronic Records
Ideas and suggestions on structuring and naming your files as well as ways to prepare them for permanent storage.

Step 2: Records Transfer

Disaffiliating Churches

Local church records can be delivered in-person, via mail or email. If the records cannot be delivered in-person, via mail or email, please see the instructions below: 

  1. Disaffiliating churches should deliver or mail their records to the Indiana Conference Treasurer, Heidi Harding at the Indiana Conference Office in Carmel, Indiana. Please contact their office at 317-564-3243 or heidi.harding@inumc.org.
     
  2. If the records cannot be delivered to the Indiana Conference Office, please contact your Conference Superintendent to temporarily deposit the records in their locale. The Conference Superintendent will then contact the DePauw Archives and Special Collections to arrange a records pick-up.
     
  3. If churches are not able to deliver or mail their records to the Indiana Conference Office or their Conference Superintendent, a records pick-up can be scheduled with the Archives and Special Collections staff at 765-658-4406 or archives@depauw.eduA records pick-up should be scheduled at least two weeks in advance. Note: Archives and Special Collections staff are not able to schedule a records pick-up until after February 1, 2023 due to the Roy O. West Library renovation.

Active and Non-Active Church Records (Not Disaffiliating)

Local church records can be delivered in-person, via mail or email. If the records cannot be delivered in-person, via mail or email, please see the instructions below: 

  1. Churches should deliver or mail their records to the Indiana Conference Office in Carmel, Indiana. Please contact their office at 317-924-1321 or questions@inumc.org
     
  2. If churches are not able to deliver or mail their records to the Indiana Conference Office, a records pick-up can be scheduled with the Archives and Special Collections staff at 765-658-4406 or archives@depauw.edu. A records pick-up should be scheduled at least two weeks in advance. Note: Archives and Special Collections staff are not able to schedule a records pick-up until after February 1, 2023 due to the Roy O. West Library renovation.

Step 3: Contact Information

The Archives and Special Collections is temporarily located in the Julian Science and Mathematics Center, room 111, while the Roy O. West Library is undergoing renovation. Visitor parking is available behind the Richard E. Peeler Art Center. A DePauw University campus map is available online with up-to-date parking information. 

Address:

DePauw University Archives
Attn: Bethany Fiechter, Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections

Julian Science and Mathematics Center
2 East Hanna Street
Greencastle, IN 46135

For additional information, please contact the Archives and Special Collections by phone at (765) 658-4406 or email at archives@depauw.edu.