Indiana United Methodist Church

A list of guidelines about filename conventions and file sharing:

• Filenames should be consistent and include the first initial and last name of the interviewee as well as the date of the interview. Example: BFiechterInterview_2025-06-03
• Files should be sent together in a Google Drive folder with the folder title: Archive of Indiana Methodist Women Oral History Project
• Individual folders should be created within the Archive of Indiana Methodist Women Oral History Project main folder with the last name and first name of each interviewee. Example: Fiechter, Bethany 
  Each individual folder should include the following:
  • Legal release form (.pdf)
  • Audio and/or video files of interview (see accepted file formats below)
  • Transcript (.docx)
  • Metadata information (.docx or .pdf)
• The main Google Drive folder should be shared with the archives@depauw.edu account with editing privileges

Audio

Accepted Audio File Formats

• .wav is used as the preservation copy
• .mp3 is used as the access copy

Required Audio Documentation

• A legal release signed by the narrator, interviewer/s and any others present during the interview is required. The release should include rights and permissions as well as any restrictions on use. This should be sent as a .pdf file.  
• A transcript of the interview is required. We prefer this to be a .docx file.

Required Audio Metadata for Digital Library

• Interviewer name/s
• Interviewee name/s
• 1-2 sentence description or summary of the interview
• Date (YYYY-MM-DD)
• Language

Video

Accepted Video File Formats

• SD (Standard Definition) is used as the preservation copy
• .mp4 is used as the access copy

If Zoom is used to capture video and audio:

• .mp4 is used as the preservation copy and access copy
• .m4a is the audio file
• .vtt is the audio transcript file. The transcript file should be converted to a .docx
• .txt is the chat file

Required Video Documentation

• A legal release signed by the narrator, interviewer/s and any others present during the interview is required. The release should include rights and permissions as well as any restrictions on use. This should be sent as a .pdf file. 
• A transcript of the interview is required. We prefer this to be a .docx file.

Required Video Metadata for Digital Library

• Interviewer name/s
• Interviewee name/s
• 1-2 sentence description or summary of the interview
• Date (YYYY-MM-DD)
• Language

Donor should provide an inventory of the items to be gifted to the Archives and Special Collections. The list should include the following information:

• Title and date of each item
• Estimated donation size (cubic ft., total boxes and/or folders)
• Condition concerns (mold, pests, fire and/or water damage)
• Photographs of the items is preferable but not required

This information should be sent to the Archives and Special Collections email account for consideration. Allow staff up to two weeks to respond due to the volume of inquiries received. Please contact us at archives@depauw.edu.

Once confirmation is received by email, an Instrument of Gift form will need to be completed and sent along with the materials using the following mailing address: 

DePauw Archives
405 S. Indiana St.
Greencastle, IN 46135

Materials can also be dropped off at the Archives within the Roy O. West Library on DePauw's campus. Frequently asked questions about your visit can be found, here. Hours can be found directly on our website.

• Susan Whiteledge Nevius Ruach papers
  This collection includes records from Susan Whiteledge Nevius Ruach ranging from 1969 to 2010.
   
• Women clergy records
  This collection includes transcripts of taped interviews, correspondence, and historical information, such as the "Women in Ministry Associated with Indiana Central College and the University of Indianapolis, A Neglected Chapter of 'Education for Service.'" by Michael G. Cartwright, Dean of Ecumenical and Interfaith Programs, 2003. 
   
• Treasie E. Hardy, Bertha Hardy, Elva M. Hardy oral history
  These collections include a transcript of "Role Models for Ministry: The Hardy Sisters of Southern Indiana." History recorded by the Rev. Ann L. Glass for her church history class at Louisville Presbyterian Seminary, 1980