Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Indiana United Methodist Church

Historical information about the United Methodist Church as well as instructions on the transfer of Indiana United Methodist Church church records to the DePauw University Archives and Special Collections.

Background

The Archives of DePauw University and Indiana United Methodism is a collection of manuscripts, archival records, artifacts, books and other documentary material in many formats organized and made available for the study of the history of DePauw University and the United Methodist Church1 in Indiana. The Archives is located in the Roy O. West Library at DePauw University, Greencastle, Indiana and is jointly supported by DePauw University and the Indiana Conference of the United Methodist Church. During the library's renovation, the Archives is located in the Julian Science and Mathematics Center, room 111.

The Archives was established in 1951 through the efforts of Worth Marion Tippy (DePauw, Class of 1891) by action of the DePauw University Board of Trustees and the then three conferences of the Methodist Church, the North, Northwest and Indiana Conference. Its collecting mission is inclusive of all the schools, departments, programs and individuals connected to DePauw University and under its earlier name of Indiana Asbury University; and is inclusive of all denominations, groups, agencies and individuals whose heritage is connected with the United Methodist Church in Indiana.

The Archives collections are the result of transfers of records by University offices and United Methodist local churches, district, and conference offices and agencies. United Methodist records remain the property of the United Methodist conference or local churches. Other collections are the result of the generosity of alumni, faculty and staff of DePauw University, United Methodist church ministers and members, and other people interested in preserving the heritage of the University and Church.

Access, Policy and Administration

While the main constituencies of the Archives are the DePauw University community and the United Methodist churches in Indiana, the Archives is open to the public under its established policies and procedures. The policies and procedures are posted in the reading room and on the Archives web site. The policies and procedures are set by the Archives in consultation with its advisory body, the Joint Archives Committee.

The Archives is administered as a department of the DePauw University Libraries and its staff are members of the University library staff subject to its personnel policies and practices. Staff of the Archives are selected under the personnel policies of the University. Representatives of the Indiana Conference will be available to participate in the recruiting, hiring and evaluation of the archivist.

Funding

Financial support is divided equally between the University and the Church. DePauw funding one-half and the Indiana Conference funding the other half of the budget. A proposed budget is submitted to the Joint Archives Committee at its fall meeting for discussion, amendment, and approval. A proposed budget approved by the Joint Archives Committee is sent to the University and the Conference for approval. Every effort will be made by both parties to agree to a budget that is fair and equitable recognizing that a change by one affects the others.