Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Indiana United Methodist Church

Historical information about the United Methodist Church as well as instructions on the transfer of Indiana United Methodist Church church records to the DePauw University Archives and Special Collections.

Collection Scope

The Archives consists of primary source material that documents the origins of the United Methodist church in Indiana in 1801 as the Methodist Episcopal Church to the present including the denominations of Wesleyan heritage that eventually joined to form the United Methodist Church. Examples of the various forms that the collections take in the Archives are:

  • Hand-written and type-written manuscripts created by United Methodist ministers and missionaries serving Indiana conferences
  • Archival records created in the daily operation and governance of the Church
  • Photographs that depict people, events, buildings and scenes related to the Church
  • Audio and video recordings of speeches and events related to the Church
  • Motion picture films made to record events or for publicity purposes
  • Published works, such as conference journals
  • Artifacts related to the Church

Items collected must document the history of the Church in Indiana. Final authority for the development of the collection rests with the Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections, subject to review and approval of supervisors when appropriate, within the collection development policy and Church guidelines established for the Archives.