Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Indiana United Methodist Church

Historical information about the United Methodist Church as well as instructions on the transfer of Indiana United Methodist Church church records to the DePauw University Archives and Special Collections.

What are Databases?

Research tools that help you find articles in journals, magazines, or newspapers, or other information sources like books, videos, and maps.Some focus on a kind of source (like newspaper articles); most of ours focus on scholarly research in a specific academic field.

Search Databases

Search the DePauw Archives Catalog
Inventory to the contents of United Methodist Church records collections.

Search Audio and Video Materials 
Listing of audio and video recordings and motion picture films. Included formats are reel-to-reel and cassette tapes, phonograph discs, compact discs and reels of movie film. Recordings may appear in more than one media format.

Search Digitized Methodist Publications
The Methodist Publications digital collection includes issues of the Hoosier United Methodist and Hoosier United Methodists Together (2003-2015). Both newspapers were published monthly by the Indiana Conference of the United Methodist Church. They contain articles about people and activities of the church and its congregations. Also included is the United Methodist Churches of Indiana Weekly News newsletter (2016-present) and historical issues of The Purple Cloth (2010-2013), a publication by Indiana United Methodist women.

Hoosier United Methodist News Index 
Contains indexing to the monthly Hoosier United Methodist News from volume 1, issue 1, Jan. 1971 to the present. Original newspapers are located in the Archives.

Indiana Ministers (1800-1900) Index 
Contains ministers' names and their appointments in Indiana for the years 1800-1900. Denominations include Methodist Episcopal, Evangelical Association and United Brethren in Christ.
 The appearance of a name in the database does not necessarily mean that the Archives has any other information about that individual.

Local Churches (1850-1900) Index 
Contains those local churches (1850 - 1900) that were not previously listed in our Indiana Ministers and Local Ministers databases, 1800 - 1900.

Local Ministers (1862-1900) Index 
Local ministers are those who received temporary assignments to fill in at churches where a regular minister had not yet been assigned. The appearance of a name in the database does not necessarily mean that the Archives has any other information about that individual.

Annual Conference Journal Memoirs Index
This is an index to the conference memorials (obituaries) and Honor Rolls from the annual conference journals held by the General Commission on Archives and History.

Search A-Z Databases provided by the DePauw University Library
A regularly updated list of databases provided by the DePauw University Library.