Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WGRE: 60 Years of Radio

A history of WGRE, the radio voice of DePauw University.

Bibliography

"50th Birthday Celebration," "WGRE-FM, 91.5, DePauw University Student Radio Station." Archives of DePauw University and Indiana United Methodism, Greencastle, Ind.

"Application for FCC Permit," "WGRE-FM, 91.5, DePauw University Student Radio Station." Archives of DePauw University and Indiana United Methodism, Greencastle, Ind.

"FCC Licenses," "WGRE-FM, 91.5, DePauw University Student Radio Station." Archives of DePauw University and Indiana United Methodism, Greencastle, Ind.

"History of the Radio Station WGRE- Audio Transcript," "WGRE-FM, 91.5, DePauw University Student Radio Station." Archives of DePauw University and Indiana United Methodism, Greencastle, Ind.

"Opening of New FM Station WGRE," "WGRE-FM, 91.5, DePauw University Student Radio Station." Archives of DePauw University and Indiana United Methodism, Greencastle, Ind.

"Quiet, Please! DePauw is on the Air." Alumnus Magazine, December 1941, p.1.

"Radio Pioneer Will Be Guest of University." The Greencastle Banner, January 25, 1958.

"Report on Fourth Anniversary Celebration-WGRE," "WGRE-FM, 91.5, DePauw University Student Radio Station." Archives of DePauw University and Indiana United Methodism, Greencastle, Ind.

"Station of the Month: A Profile of WGRE- DePauw University." College Radio Magazine, February 1967, p.12-14.

"Station WGRE Celebrates First Anniversary with Special Broadcast, Staff Birthday Party." The DePauw, 28 April 1950.

"The DePauw, WGRE Take Off to Cyberspace." DePauw Magazine, Summer 1997, p.8.

"WGRE Annual Report 1958-1959," "WGRE-FM, 91.5, DePauw University Student Radio Station." Archives of DePauw University and Indiana United Methodism, Greencastle, Ind.

"WGRE Annual Report 1966-1967," "WGRE-FM, 91.5, DePauw University Student Radio Station." Archives of DePauw University and Indiana United Methodism, Greencastle, Ind.

"WGRE Annual Report 1968-1969," "WGRE-FM, 91.5, DePauw University Student Radio Station." Archives of DePauw University and Indiana United Methodism, Greencastle, Ind.

"WGRE Annual Report 1976-1977," "WGRE-FM, 91.5, DePauw University Student Radio Station." Archives of DePauw University and Indiana United Methodism, Greencastle, Ind.

"WGRE Birthday Party 1959," "WGRE-FM, 91.5, DePauw University Student Radio Station." Archives of DePauw University and Indiana United Methodism, Greencastle, Ind.

"WGRE- FM- A Twentieth Anniversary." Alumnus Magazine, April 1969, p.2-5.

"WGRE Joins UPI Audio Network, Adds News Reports." The Banner Graphic, October 8, 1974.

"WGRE Marks 60th Anniversary as Journalistic Leader." DePauw Magazine, Spring 2009, p.4-6.

"WGRE-FM 25 Years of FM Broadcasting." The Journal of College Radio, November 1973, p.7.

Bittner, John R. "DePauw Radio: Emphasis on Involvement." Educational Broadcasting, September/October 1974.

Greencastle, Ind., Archives of DePauw University and Indiana United Methodism, "WGRE-FM, 91.5, DePauw University Student Radio Station," DC440-443, 543-546, 718, 1025, 1026, 1062, & 2565.

Guy, John. "Nation’s First 10-Watter Increases Power." The NAEB Journal, September-October 1963, p.51-53.

Hedges, Cindy. "WGRE Shake-Up Follows Faculty Meeting Reporting." The DePauw, February 16, 1982, p.1.

Hutchinson, Alan. "News Staff at WGRE Re-formed." The DePauw, March 6, 1982, p.7.

Hutchinson, Alan. "Quayle Requests Re-hiring of WGRE Reporters." The DePauw, February 23, 1982, p.1.

Kasper, Rebecca. "Media Center Ready, At Last." The DePauw, March 1, 1991, p.1.

Mirage, 1942. "We’re On the Air," Greencastle, Ind: DePauw University, 1942.

Mirage, 1943. "Quiet, Please," Greencastle, Ind: DePauw University, 1943.

Mirage, 1944. "Quiet, Please, We’re Broadcasting," Greencastle, Ind: DePauw University, 1944.

Mirage, 1948. "On the Air," Greencastle, Ind: DePauw University, 1948.

Mirage, 1950. "WGRE Ends First Year of Operation," Greencastle, Ind: DePauw University, 1950.

Mirage, 1951. "New Studios Highlight Year for Station WGRE," Greencastle, Ind: DePauw University, 1951.

Rench, Brad. "WGRE Converts to Stereophonic Sound." The DePauw, September 9, 1963, p.3.

Tucker, Cody. "WGRE Under Fire Over KKK Invite." The DePauw, March 6, 1998, p.1.

Ward, Maribeth. "WGRE Celebrates 60th Birthday." The Banner Graphic, April 20, 2009.

White, Hillary. "91.50 Your Sound Alternative Celebrates Half a Century of College Radio." The DePauw, April 30, 1999, p.1.

Zintel, Matthew. "WGRE Still Waiting for Tower Approval." The DePauw, February 25, 1997, p.4.