LibGuides: UNIV 325: Science Fellowship Application Workshop: Ecology/Geology

Ecology/Geology

Additional search terms to consider:

Medicinal plants
plant ecology
ethnobotany

Glossary of Botanical Terms

JSTOR Sustainability This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You are looking for articles and reports on environmental issues.
- What's included? Over 100 journals and over 5,400 open research reports. Subtopics include sustainable business practices, urban planning and development, disaster readiness, conversation, climatology, resource management, energy policy.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need articles covering biological, ecological, and environmental science topics.
- What's included? A collection of full-text journals, mostly from small societies and non-commercial publishers, covering fields such as zoology, plant sciences, ornithology, and entomology.
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You are looking for full-text geoscience journal articles.
- What's included? Full-text peer-reviewed articles and other materials with linked reference lists from 30 journals in a broad range of geoscience areas.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Good database for geoscience research.
- What's included? Index and abstracts to articles, books, maps, reports, and other literature on geology and geosciences. Includes or has links to full text.
SAGE Premier Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’ve tried other databases and still need more journal articles, particularly in health/life sciences or social sciences.
- What's included? Full-text of over 650 full-text journals published by SAGE, 1999-present.

Ecology/Geology Journals

These are titles the DePauw Libraries has active subscriptions; links have been added below taking you to to the Library catalog. Different providers offer different years of coverage, so be sure to scroll down within the title record to see print holdings and the Access Online link for online coverage.

Note that if a call number / location of an item says "Offsite Storage" this means it is in a secured location. If you want to view an item from Offsite Storage, visit TheDesk in Roy O. West and provide the item you are looking for. Since they will need to go to Julian to retrieve the item it can take a few minutes. Note, that it will help them find your item as efficiently as possible if you provide the exact journal name, issue, and volume number.

-Alicia

Websites

Web Soil Survey (Current)
Web Soil Survey (WSS) provides soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey. It is operated by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and provides access to the largest natural resource information system in the world. NRCS has soil maps and data available online for more than 95 percent of the nation’s counties and anticipates having 100 percent in the near future. The site is updated and maintained online as the single authoritative source of soil survey information.
Geoscience in Your State: Indiana
Information provided by the American Geosciences Institute.
EPA: Environmental Protection Agency: Environmental Topics