Skip to Main Content
Multidisciplinary Databases
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window- Why search here? Great starting point, with something for every subject!
- What's included? Lots of full-text, mostly peer-reviewed and recent, with some older and popular sources.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window- Why search here? You need a variety of scholarly and professional sources like journal articles, books, reports, and proceedings.
- What's included? Information about published sources, sometimes with links to the full-text, covering most disciplines.
- Note:Follow these instructions to set your Google Scholar settings for access to DePauw's Full Text when available: Google Scholar FAQ
JSTOR This link opens in a new window- Why search here? It’s an excellent tool for scholarly articles and books/chapters from university presses, covering most disciplines.
- What's included? The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles covering 75 disciplines, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues - the coverage skews older, so it’s not always a great starting point for researching topics that need to have the most current sources.
SpringerLink Journals This link opens in a new window- Why search here? Full-text scholarly articles in all areas of science and some areas of social sciences from 1997 to present.
- What's included? Over 1,600 full-text Springer journals in the following fields: behavioral science, biomedical & life sciences, business & economics, chemistry, computer science, earth & environmental science, humanities, social sciences & law, mathematics & statistics, and medicine. Coverage starts in 1997 or later and continues to the present.
Overview Sources
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window- Why search here? You want to read summaries of previous research on a topic, giving you historical context and current understanding of the subject, as well as a list of sources to consult.
- What's included? Over 30,000 literature reviews in the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, dating back to 1932.
Dissertations: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window- Why search here? You want to read graduate student dissertations and theses on a topic - often giving you extensive bibliographies, and occasionally cutting edge research on new topics.
- What's included? Index of doctoral dissertations and some master's theses from most North American and many European colleges and universities. Starts in 1743. Full text is available for over 1 million, mostly since 1996.
Multi-Subject Open Access
