LibGuides: UNIV 325: Science Fellowship Application Workshop: Biology/Chemistry

Biology/Chemistry

ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You have a Chemistry research project.
- What's included? Full-text of core journals and magazines from the American Chemical Society, dating back to the late 1800s.
Biological Sciences This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need biology resources.
- What's included? A mix of scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications covering biology, biomedicine and related subjects.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need articles covering biological, ecological, and environmental science topics.
- What's included? A collection of full-text journals, mostly from small societies and non-commercial publishers, covering fields such as zoology, plant sciences, ornithology, and entomology.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You want to search the chemical literature.
- What's included? SciFinder-n contains a wide variety of content from journal articles to information on chemical structures, properties, and reactions.
This database requires all users to be logged in with one of their accounts. To get access to the registration link, please contact library@depauw.edu.
SAGE Premier Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’ve tried other databases and still need more journal articles, particularly in health/life sciences or social sciences.
- What's included? Full-text of over 650 full-text journals published by SAGE, 1999-present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You are searching for articles in the health and medical sciences.
- What's included? 26+ million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles.

Open Access Resources

PLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.

Electrochemical Society: Publications
MicroBiology Open
MicrobiologyOpen is an open access journal that is your prime source for understanding microbial science and biotech, bringing these evolving fields together in this exciting, post-genomic era.
GenBank
GenBank ® is the NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences
Science.gov
cience.gov is a U.S. government website providing a search tool for finding scientific and technical information from across top U.S. federal agencies.
Data.gov
The Home of the U.S. Government's Open Data: here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
PubChem
PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
ChemSpider
The Royal Society of Chemistry publishes over 50 world-leading journals that span the core chemical sciences and related fields. Known for rigorous, fair peer review and fast publication times, our journals publish the best science, from original research articles to authoritative reviews.
U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information
The Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), a unit of the Office of Science, fulfills agency-wide responsibilities to collect, preserve, and disseminate both unclassified and classified scientific and technical information (STI) emanating from DOE-funded research and development (R&D) activities at DOE national laboratories and facilities and at universities and other institutions nationwide.
SCOPe
Structural Classification of Proteins — extended) is a database developed at the Berkeley Lab and UC Berkeley. SCOPe classifies many structures released since SCOP 1.75 through a combination of automation and manual curation, and corrects some errors, aiming to have the same accuracy as the fully hand-curated SCOP releases. SCOPe also incorporates and updates the Astral database.

Journals

This link will take you to a catalog results page for all chemistry, biology, and molecular biology journal results.

Note that if a call number / location of an item says "Offsite Storage" this means it is in a secured location. If you want to view an item from Offsite Storage, visit TheDesk in Roy O. West and provide the item you are looking for. Since they will need to go to Julian to retrieve the item it can take a few minutes. Note, that it will help them find your item as efficiently as possible if you provide the exact journal name, issue, and volume number.

-Alicia