Librarians and teaching faculty work collaboratively to ensure the libraries support teaching and learning at DePauw University.
The collection is routinely evaluated to ensure that both physical and digital materials reflect the information-needs of DePauw's Community.
As a general policy, the DePauw University Libraries do not purchase textbooks or add donated textbooks to the library collection. Textbooks that are required for DePauw courses are part of the student's expected cost of education, and it is the student’s responsibility to acquire them. An instructor may choose to place a personal copy of a textbook on physical reserve for a specific course; the textbook will be returned to the instructor at the end of the course.
This practice is related to issues of space, resources, and mission. Textbooks are quickly outdated, and acquisition would be in conflict with the library’s intention to develop a collection of lasting value. With library shelf space already overextended, textbooks would displace materials of wider interest.
For the purposes of this policy, a textbook is a book specifically designed to be used as the basis of a course of study. They are typically designed to fit with a 14 week teaching cycle, and often have a companion teacher’s edition. Textbooks are commonly reissued in updated editions every year or two, and often contain examples, problems, practice exams, etc. Scholarly studies, works of literature, history, philosophy, and other types of texts, may be required reading for a class, but they are not considered to be textbooks as defined above. Sometimes texts required for a course may already be part of the library’s holdings because they meet the criteria of the library’s general collection development policy, not because they are required for specific classes.
We would be happy to accept donations with the understanding that we do not add items that duplicate current holdings, items that are out of scope, in poor condition, textbooks or computer materials, photocopies, magazines, or media in obsolete formats. Please contact the Dean of Libraries about your materials.
Faculty wishing to donate their scholarly work should contact the Coordinator for Scholarly Communications and Resource Services to make appropriate considerations. Archives and Special Collections staff will review offers of unique or rare books, personal papers, photographs or collections that support the teaching mission of the university or document its history, for inclusion into their collection. Music Library staff will review offers of music and media related materials for inclusion into their collection. Monetary gifts to support ongoing collection expenses are especially welcome and if you are considering making such a gift please contact our Dean of Libraries.
We do not attribute an amount to donations. Donors will submit a completed Gift in Kind form with their donation that is shared with the office of Development & Alumni Engagement to acknowledge the gift.