Skip to Main Content

Special Collections and Rare Books

This guide provides an overview of the special collection and rare book holdings within the DePauw University Archives and Special Collections.

Historical Overview

Special collections materials found within the Archives trace their beginnings to the founding of the university in 1837. Books were gifted to Indiana Asbury, now DePauw University, by the first college president, Matthew Simpson, as well faculty throughout the years. One of our largest rare book collections was donated by former Indiana Governor James Whitcomb. These texts were instrumental in early teaching and learning with a focus on history, natural sciences, poetry, and religion. We credit a majority of the rare book collection to our generous alumni who have had a fondness of scholarship, book collecting, and preservation.   

Gallery

Den Nederlandtsen Hovenier: De medicyn-winckel, of Ervaren huys-houder : zijnde het III. deel van het Vermakelyck landt-leven ... Als mede Den naerstigen byen-houder

A manual of astrology, or, The book of the stars: which contains ever requisite illustration of the celestial science, or the art of foretelling future events by the influences of the heavenly bodies

Cathedral of Jaén, Communion Prayer and Song Illuminated Missal Leaf

Smith’s illustrated astronomy: designed for the use of the public or common schools in the United States

Importance of Rare Books and Special Collections

Providing access to and preserving rare books and special collections is important for many reasons:

  • They are a cultural asset, contributing to our collective identity and heritage.
  • They serve as evidence of our past and can help guide us into the future.
  • They inspire creativity across disciplines, providing new research opportunities, teaching, and scholarship.

What Does "Rare" Mean?

What makes a book rare?

  • Importance: Seminal work, contribution to human knowledge.
  • Scarcity: Limited number of copies printed or surviving.
  • Age and Imprint: Publisher, location of printing, and/or date of publication.
  • Condition: Original construction, extent of wear, complete with all pages and illustrations.
  • Physical and Aesthetic Properties: Fine bindings, color plates, illustrations, fore-edge painting, marbled endpapers, and etc.
  • Association: Provenance, signed copies, affixed book plate, marginal notes or drawings.
  • Language or Country of Origin: Non-English and/or non-American materials.
  • Subject: Genre, with a combination of age, scarcity, association, and etc.

Source: “Conserve O’ Gram 19/1: What Makes a Book Rare? .” National Parks Service, 1993. https://tinyurl.com/3z4bjeh5.

Locating Rare Books

Library Catalog

The library catalog includes Roy O. West Library holdings as well as a growing consortium of thousands of public, school, institutional, and academic libraries in one, multi-faceted search.

 

Search Tip:

  • Limit to "Archives and Special Collections" for print material, such as first editions, fine bindings, faculty, staff, student and alumni publications located in Archives and Special Collections

Locating Special Collections

Archives Catalog

Search Archives and Special Collections holdings, print PDF versions of finding aids, and request materials using a generated form. 

Search Tips:

  • Select your search method using the main toolbar (e.g. Collections, Subjects, Names)
  • If using the search box, click on the “Search all record types” dropdown menu and “limit to collections.” This will generate a search on the collection-level, allowing a hierarchical search within the record
  • Multiple terms entered into the search box are handled as if connected by an OR statement. For AND statements, use the plus (+) button to add a row for each term
  • Use quotation marks around multiple words for a phrase search (e.g. “annual report”)