PRIVATE AND SPECIALTY PRESSES – is performed by craft-based expert or aspiring artisans, either amateur or professional, who print and build books, typically by hand, with emphasis on design, graphics, layout, fine printing, binding, covers, paper and stitching.
- Blake, William, and Lessing J. Rosenwald Collection (Library of Congress). 1783. Poetical Sketches. London. 1926 edition.
Archives and Special Collections
PR4144 .P6 1783a
- This limited edition facsimile showcases William Blake’s poetry and artistry. William Blake (1757-1827) was an English poet, painter, engraver and printmaker. The original text was printed in 1783 with only 40 copies made and shared with friends as gifts.
- Morris, William. 1900. Pre-Raphaelite Ballads. New York: A. Wessels Co.
Archives and Special Collections
PR5078 .P6 1900
- There were only 500 copies printed of this work. Black, white and red illustrations are by Helen Marguerite O’Kane (1879-1927). Verses by William Morris (1834-1896) are included.
- Forster, E. M. 1925. Anonymity : An Enquiry. London: Leonard & Virginia Woolf at the Hogarth Press.
Archives and Special Collections
PN171.A6 F6 1925
- The Hogarth Press was a book publishing imprint of Penguin Random House founded by British authors Leonard Woolf and Virginia Woolf. It was named after their house in London, where they began hand-printing books as a hobby. This book by E.M. Forster is about the concept of authorship and knowing the author’s identity in relation to the experience of literature. It’s part of a larger set of “Hogarth Essays”, a collection of literary critiques from various authors.
