Guide to Solo Vocal Literature at DePauw: Searching the Physical Collection: Select Resources

A practical and useful reference book for students and teachers. Unique in concept, it shows in musical notation the key and range of over 1,700 songs in 60 of the most popular and available song collections. Lists: Composer Title Key and range in musical notation of each song Anthology of Grieg songs Pronunciation

Covering every major production containing music, this revised guide to the American musical theatre includes details of over 1000 additional shows. In all, the details on 4300 productions, from vaudeville, operetta, nightclub revues, and the Follies to the emergence of the modern musical theatre are featured. The two volumes focus on a wide array of shows: from Broadway musicals to regional productions; from television musicals to ice shows; from nightclub scores to foreign shows by many writers.

This third supplement covers books published from 1979 to 1987 plus a few earlier titles. As in the second supplement, Havlice includes titles issued by music publishers and trade houses. The arrangement of this supplement is identical to its predecessors.

"Exploring Twentieth Century Vocal Music" is a people-centered book designed to aid singers and voice teachers to discover and decipher the inovative repertoire of the 20th century. The book familiarizes the reader with notation systems employed by some contemporary composers. It suggest rehearsal techniques and vocal exercises that will help singers prepare to tackle the repertoire and offers a list of the most important and interesting works to emerge, along with suggested recital programmes that will introduce audiences as well as singers to this body of music.

Product information not available.

Sergius Kagen's encyclopedic guide to music for the voice has been a standard reference work for singers and teachers for nearly 30 years. For each of several thousand works, the singer can find the compass and tessitura, the vocal type to which the song is suited, as well as remarks on the character or challenges of the piece, with occasional advice to the accompanist. Headnotes give general information on some major composers and important song cycles. This single volume helps the performer find works by hundreds of composers from Europe and America, from the Renaissance through the mid-20th century, and genres ranging from folk airs to bel canto. Entries are arranged by composer within larger categories: Songs and Airs before the 19th Century, Songs of the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries, Folk Songs, and Operatic Extracts. An index of composers makes access to listings even easier.

Now in paperback! A timeless classic. Includes 8,200 songs in 818 lists for nine voice classifications; indexed by composer, title, vocal range, and publisher. The complete work represents the living song repertoire of today drawn from recital programs, recordings, broadcasts, telecasts, and other sources, and is comprised of Part I: Coloratura, Lyric and Dramatic Soprano, Part II: Mezzo Soprano and Contralto, Part III: Lyric and Dramatic Tenor, and Part IV: Baritone and Bass.

Choral Repertoire is the definitive and comprehensive one-volume presentation of the canon of the Western choral tradition. Designed for practicing conductors and directors, students and teachers of choral music, amateur and professional singers, scholars, and interested vocal enthusiasts, it is an account of the complete choral output of the most significant composers of this genre throughout history. Organized by era (Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, Romantic, and Modern), Choral Repertoire covers general characteristics of each historical era; trends and styles unique to various countries; biographical sketches of over 500 composers; and performance annotations of more than 5,000 individual works. This book will be an essential guide to programming, a reference tool for program notes and other research, and, most importantly, a key resource for conductors, instructors, scholars, and students of choral music.

A long-awaited resource for the young operatic singer, this annotated guide brings together many sources to start the journey toward powerful, informed performance. An extensive discussion of fach and audition repertoire is followed by more than 400 arias organized by voice type, including canonical, contemporary, and obscure works from different languages. Each entry includes level of difficulty, voice/character type, special techniques, tessitura, and accompaniment. Full of detailed and insightful commentary from internationally renowned singers, directors, coaches, and other professionals--Regina Resnik, Sherrill Milnes, Carol Vaness, and Warren Jones, to name a few--this volume will be invaluable to the performer, student, and teacher of operatic repertoire throughout their developing careers.