Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guide to Solo Vocal Literature at DePauw: Searching the Physical Collection

Start Your Search

Below are some helpful call numbers and subject headings to use while browsing DePauw's Music Library:

Subject Headings

Use Library of Congress Subject Headings to locate resources for vocal performance in DePauw's Discovery Search. Use the filters to limit your search by "Subject" when using the controlled subject headings listed below.

  • Songs, unaccompanied
  • Sacred songs, unaccompanied
  • Songs (high voice) with piano
  • Songs (medium voice) with piano
  • Songs (low voice) with piano
  • Vocal duets, unaccompanied
  • Vocal duets with piano
  • Vocal trios, unaccompanied
  • Vocal trios with piano
  • Singing--studies and exercises
  • Singing--diction
  • Songs--texts
  • Musicals--vocal scores with piano

Call Numbers

Search the stacks by call number to locate vocal music at DePauw. Browsing by call number, you will find performance repertoire, histories, and method books on the physical shelves.

Works for Voice
  • M1495: Miscellaneous collections (secular & sacred)
  • M1500: Operas/musicals (full)
  • M1503:Operas/musicals (piano/vocal)
  • M1507: Operas/musicals, anthologies
  • M1508: Operas/musicals (show selections)
  • M1528-29: Duets, trios, etc. for voice
  • M1613: Voice with orchestra (full)
  • M1614: Voice with orchestra (piano/vocal)
  • M1619: Collections, multiple composers
  • M1619.5: Collections, one poet
  • M1620: Collections, one composer
  • M1621: Separate works
  • M1621.4: Song cycles
  • M1623: Songs with one instrument (not piano)
  • M1630.18: Popular music collections
  • M1669-70: Spirituals
  • M2000: Oratorios (full scores)
  • M2003: Oratorios (piano/vocal)
  • M2110: Anthologies
  • M2112: Collections, one composer
  • M2113: Separate songs
  • M2113.4: Song cycles
  • M2117: Hymnals
Literature, History, and Criticism 
  • ML49-54: Librettos and translations
  • ML50: Operas (full)
  • ML54.6: Song texts, collections
  • ML128: Bibliographies
  • ML410: Composer biographies
  • ML420: Performer biographies
  • ML1700+ Opera history
  • ML2800+ Songs history
Instruction and Study
  • MT110-121: Interpretation & analysis
  • MT820-845: Vocal technique, pedagogy
  • MT872, 883: Diction
  • MT885: Collections of vocalizes
  • MT892: Interpretation & performance
  • MT995+ Stage production