Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Examples of Professional Program Notes
Resources from D. Kern Holoman
Musical Terminology by Holoman
Holoman, D. Kern. "Music Terminology." In Writing about Music: A Style Sheet, 3-19. Oakland, California: University of California Press, 2014.
Program Notes: Select Resources
Writing about Music by
Publication Date: 2014-09-05
Where do you place the hyphen in "Beethoven" if it breaks between two lines? How do you cite John Coltrane's album A Love Supreme? Is it "premiere" or "première"? The answers and much more can be found in this definitive resource for authors, students, editors, concert producers--anyone who deals with music in print. Extending the principles devised for the classical repertoires, this revised and expanded edition now includes examples from world music, rock, jazz, popular music, and cinema. This essential volume covers some of the thorniest issues of musical discourse: how to go about describing musical works and procedures in prose, the rules for citations in notes and bibliography, and proper preparation of such materials as musical examples, tables, and illustrations. One section discusses program notes, while others explain the requirements for submitting manuscripts and electronic files, and outline best practices for student writers. An appendix lists common problem words. Updates include greatly simplified citations of Internet locators, the recognition of multiple platforms, and the expectation of paperless transmission and storage of work. Cited as the authority by The Chicago Manual of Style, this classic handbook is the go-to source for anyone writing about music.
Writing about Music by
Call Number: Music Library Reference ML63 .W68 1988
Publication Date: 1988-07-08
How do you spell Rachmaninov? Where do you place the hyphen in Hofmannsthal if it breaks across two lines? Is it premiere or premi#65533;re? The answers and much more can be found in a new, essential resource for authors, students, editors, concert producers--anyone who deals with music in print. An expanded version of the style sheet for the well-known journal 19th-Century Music, this small volume covers some of the thorniest issues of musical discourse: how to go about describing musical works and procedures in prose, the rules for citations in notes and bibliography, and proper preparation of such materials as musical examples, tables, and illustrations. One section discusses program notes, another explains the requirements of submitting manuscripts written on a word processor. An appendix lists common problem words.
Guide to Library Research in Music by
Call Number: Music Library Reference: ML3797 .B29 2008
Publication Date: 2008-09-18
"A Guide to Library Research in Music introduces the process and techniques for researching and writing about music. This informative textbook provides examples of different types of writing, offers a thorough introduction to music literature, describes various information-searching methods and library-based organizational systems, and explores the wide array of music resources."--BOOK JACKET.
Writing about Music by
Call Number: Music Library Reference: ML3797 .W54 1997
Publication Date: 1996-07-10
Focusing on general writing issues as well as special challenges of writing about music, this practical text provides step-by-step instruction on the process of writing a paper on a musical topic.
A Style and Usage Guide to Writing about Music by
Publication Date: 2010-03-01
In A Style and Usage Guide to Writing About Music, Thomas Donahue presents a collection of guidelines to help express through the written word the special notations, terms, and concepts found in the discipline of music. It concentrates on questions of style and format in the interest of good formal writing within the context of United-States English, so that writers may communicate their ideas clearly and effectively. While compiling the guidelines, Donahue reviewed content from many other music and general guides. He documented the most common formats in order to assist the writer in selecting an appropriate format for the given circumstance when more than one may apply. The book draws on profuse musically-oriented examples and is arranged by topics both musical and typographic, such as the proper use and spelling of composer names and musical concepts; the use of notes, pitches, and octave delineations; letters and numbers employed to describe form and harmony; when, where, and how to apply compound words and hyphenation of terms and names; and the proper citation of musical and audiovisual sources. The book concludes with a glossary of typographic terms, a bibliography, and a comprehensive index, making this a valuable resource for students, scholars, teachers, and writers.
Music in Words by
Publication Date: 2009-02-12
Music in Words is a compact guide to researching and writing about music, addressing all the issues that anyone who writes about music--from students to professional musicians and critics--may confront when putting together anything from brief program notes to a lengthy thesis. The book is awriting guide and a reference manual in one: the first part, a "how to" section, offers a clear explanation of the purpose of music research and how it is to be done, including basic introductions to the most necessary tools for musical inquiry (with special emphasis on strategic use of theinternet), and how they can be accessed and used. The second part is a compendium of information on style and sources for quick reference, including a straightforward presentation of the purpose and use of citation and reference systems as they are applied to and in music. As a whole, the volumegives readers a clear picture of how to write about music at different levels and for different purposes in a handy, thoroughly cross-referenced format.This American edition has been thoroughly revised and expanded, and features an extensive section on writing for the Internet and new sections on writing for jazz, popular music, world musics, and ethnography. Additionally, a companion website presents a broad range of writing samples and links tokey resources