Campus Life at DePauw

The Boulder Magazine, 1938-1952

The Boulder magazine was first published by students in 1936 as a literary and humor magazine. The final issue was printed in 1952. The collection consists of bound volumes from 1938-1952. They can be found in the Archives and Special Collections reading room.

The DePauw Newspaper, 1920-2019*

The DePauw student newspaper can trace its beginnings to the Asbury Notes, a student-faculty collaborative work begun in 1852. The newspaper has been digitized with full-text searching back to 1970. Full issues are also available from 1932-1969 with selected-headline indexing only. 

The DePauw Newspaper, 2021-present*

The DePauw student newspaper can trace its beginnings to the Asbury Notes, a student-faculty collaborative work begun in 1852. Weekly issues from 2021-present are archived as a website and can be found on Archive-IT.

The DePauw Magazine, 1919-1935

The DePauw Magazine, was a student literary publication issued during the months of October, January, March and May. The yearly subscription rate was $1.00.

Hoot magazine, 1952-1957

A student humor magazine containing stories, jokes and cartoons from 1952-1957. This publication is available as a bound volume set in the Archives and Special Collections reading room.

A Midwestern Review Magazine, 1987-present

This magazine is dedicated to publishing student poetry, prose and art. It's available as a bound volume set in the Archives and Special Collections reading room. Digital copies of the magazine from 1987-2011 are available in the DePauw Digital Library University Publications Digital Collection.

Mirage Yearbook, 1884-2008

Yearbooks were published by the junior class and first appeared in 1884. Several times during the next decade and a half, the junior class failed to produce a yearbook. The 1908 publication was given the name Sombrero. The yearbook ceased publication in 2008.

The Yellow Crab Magazine, 1928-1932

This student magazine was an earlier student humor magazine covering stories, jokes and cartoons from 1928-1932. It's available as a bound volume set in the Archives and Special Collections reading room.

PORTFOLIO Magazine, 1964-1973
PORTFOLIO magazine was published by students from Spring 1964 to Spring 1973. It includes a mixture of poetry, prose, fiction, illustrations and photography. The publication was known as the fine arts magazine of DePauw University. All works were carefully considered by members of its editorial board. Bound copies are available to view in the Archives and Special Collections reading room.

Quest Magazine, 1948-1950
Quest magazine was a religious student publication from 1948-1950. Information about denominational meetings, student organization gatherings and writings about campus, national and international happenings are featured.

Flying Tiger Magazine, 1985-1986
The Flying Tiger magazine was a student publication featuring commentary about the university, student organizations, and events in the country and around the world. It also included poetry, prose, illustrations, local advertisements and photographs.

The Nihilist Magazine, 1967-1969
The Nihilist magazine was an underground student publication issued irregularly. The publication featured writing about the university, poetry and illustrations.

Aenigmate Magazine, 1984-1986
According to the publication, Aenigmate magazine was a student publication that presented many and varied perspectives, ideas and viewpoints. It included commentaries on current events, poems, short stories and thoughts about social issues.

*Additional historical issues of DePauw's student newspapers from 1852-1919 are available in the DePauw Digital Library University Publications Digital Collection.