Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Campus Life at DePauw

Campus life at DePauw University as seen through resources found within the DePauw University Archives and Special Collections.

Faculty Collections

Faculty records can be found in the Depauw Archives and Special Collections by searching our holdings via the Archives Catalog. An example of select alumni subject headings can be found below:

Sample Subject Headings Faculty Records
  Manuscripts of Faculty
  Faculty

The following is a sample list of faculty manuscript collections:

Katherine Sprague Alvord

Katherine Sprague Alvord was DePauw University's first dean of women (1915-1936). A native of Sandusky, Ohio and a graduate of the University of Michigan and Columbia University, she is credited with starting most of the women's organizations on campus and for encouraging a large number of DePauw women to pursue advanced degrees. Alvord died at her home in Gaylordsville, Connecticut, April 15, 1960, at the age of 88.

John Joseph Baughman

John J. Baughman was born in Evansville, Ind. on May 31, 1925. He served with the United States Army in Europe in 1943 through 1945. In 1961 he married Elizabeth Bowden and in 1965 they had their only son, John. He has five books along with many papers, talks, and book reviews. He was a History Professor at DePauw and was active in many other services. In 1971-1972 and 1981-1982 John was a visiting professor college year in Athens. John passed away at age 95 on June 26, 2020.

Historical Faculty and Staff Directories

Historical Faculty and Staff Directory, 1830-2019 July

A directory of faculty and staff members at the Indiana Asbury and DePauw University from 1837-2019. Entries include the name, departments employed, titles and years of employment. 

Faculty and Staff Directory, 2020-present

The faculty and staff directory via the DePauw University website is captured annually using Archive-IT, a web-archiving service for collecting and accessing cultural heritage on the web. 

Alumni Collections

Alumni records can be found in the DePauw Archives and Special Collections by searching our holdings via the Archives Catalog. An example of select alumni subject headings can be found below: 

Sample Subject Headings DePauw alumni
  Manuscripts of alumni. Class of YYYY (Example: Manuscripts of alumni. Class of 1980)
  Alumni activities

The following is a sample list of alumni manuscript collections:

Albert J. Beveridge, class of 1885

Albert Jeremiah Beveridge was born on a farm on the border of Adams and Highland counties, Ohio, October 6, 1862. He was a United States Senator from Indiana and the author of numerous publications, but is best known as the author of the definitive Life of John Marshall.

Elijah E. Edwards, class of 1853

Elijah Edwards was born 26 January 1831 in Delaware, Ohio. During the Civil War he was Chaplain of the 7th Minnesota Volunteer Infantry. He was later the first president of the Colorado State Agricultural College, now Colorado State University.

Max Ehrmann, class of 1894 

Ehrmann was born in Terre Haute on September 26, 1872. He was a poet and writer, best known for his poem, Desiderata.

Rae L. Donnelly, class of 1959

While at DePauw, Rae Lahti was a cheerleader, May Day queen, member of the Mortar Board, President of Alpha Omicron Pi, President of the Association of Women Students, a member of the Women's Recreation Association, Orchesis, Panhellenic and the Y.M.C.A.

M. Gladys Scott, class of 1927 

M. Gladys Scott graduated from DePauw in 1927 where she majored in physical education. In 1937, she was the first woman to be awarded a doctorate in physical education from University of Iowa. She was head of the Department of Physical Education for Women for 21 years before her retirement in 1974.

Francis Walker, class of 1896

The Francis Walker papers consist of 281 letters written by Francis Walker; his wife, Mary; and seven of their nine children. The letters detail life at home in New Albany, Ind., where Rev. and Mrs. Walker operated a farm and nursery, cultivating fruit and flowers. College life at DePauw University is described by the four Walkers who attended.

Margaret Wright, class of 1935

Letters written home from DePauw with her twin sister, Dorothy in the 1930s.

Dorothy Wright, class of 1936

With twin sister Margaret, she wrote letters home.