Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Campus Life at DePauw

Campus life at DePauw University as seen through resources found within the DePauw University Archives and Special Collections.

Histories

Black Behind the Black and Gold
A digitized version of the 1990 DePauw history by Dr. Stanley Warren. 

Indiana Asbury - DePauw University, 1837-1937 
A digitized version of the 1937 DePauw history by William Warren Sweet.

DePauw Through the Years, Volume 1 and 2, 1962 
A digitized version of the 1962 two volume set DePauw history by George B. Manhart. 

DePauw A Pictorial History, 1987; 2003 
An e-book edition of the 1987 history of DePauw. It includes all the same text and photographs as the original, but in a new full-text searchable version.

GIS Historical Campus Map
As part of DePauw's 175th Anniversary celebration, the DePauw GIS Center in cooperation with the DePauw Archives began generating a 3D interactive campus map that is viewable using Google™ Earth.

Databases

DePauw Archives Catalog

Search Archives & Special Collections holdings, receive generated citations for archival material, print PDF versions of finding aids, and request materials using a generated form.

Search Tips:

  • Select your search method using the main toolbar (e.g. Collections, Subjects, Names)
  • If using the search box, click on the “Search all record types” dropdown menu and “limit to collections.” This will generate a search on the collection-level, allowing a hierarchical search within the record
  • Multiple terms entered into the search box are handled as if connected by an OR statement. For AND statements, use the plus (+) button to add a row for each term
  • Use quotation marks around multiple words for a phrase search (e.g. “annual report”)

Digital Library

The DePauw Digital Library contains a variety of photographs, publications, and other objects spanning the history of DePauw University, Putnam County, and Indiana United Methodism. The DePauw Digital Library is hosted as part of the PALNI (Private Academic Library Network of Indiana) CONTENTdm Digital Collections.

Search Tips:

  • To complete a search through multiple digital collections (e.g. Archives Documents and Photographs, University Publications, and Archives Inventories), conduct an "Advanced Search" in the top right corner. Be sure to select any DePauw University related digital collections you'd like to search at the same time
  • Use quotation marks around multiple words for a phrase search (e.g. "annual report") 

WorldCat Discovery

WorldCat Discovery includes the DePauw University Libraries holdings as well as a growing consortium of thousands of public, school, institutional, and academic libraries in one, multi-faceted search.

Search Tip:

  • Limit to "Archives and Special Collections" for print material located in Archives & Special Collections