It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MUS 265: History of Western Music I: Accessing Databases and Indexes Off Campus
This guide will assist students enrolled in Dr. Balensuela's Mus 265: History of Western Music I class.
Temporarily Free Content Due to the COVID-19 Emergency is being added to the Databases A-Z page regularly. New content is highlighted on the right side of the page under New/Trial Databases, see the yellow arrow below.
This should alleviate any access issues you may have off campus.
Please reach out to me (firstname.lastname@example.org) if you have any problems accessing online resources or questions.
[alt text: screenshot of DePauw's Databases A-Z list with a large yellow arrow pointing to the New/Trial Databases area]
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals, newspapers and popular magazines covering most academic disciplines. Some as far back as early 1900's, but mostly since about 1970. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
Index of doctoral dissertations and some master's theses from most North American and many European colleges and universities. Starts in 1743. Full text is available for over 1 million, mostly since 1996.
Journal article archive, covering humanities, social sciences and science. Begins with vol. 1, issue 1, 1800's, or even earlier (most titles exclude the most recent 3-5 years; some titles have current issue access).
Bloomsbury Popular Music is a source of scholarship and serious in-depth analysis of popular music in a global context. It includes the entirety of the Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World, the 33 1/3 series of books exploring key albums, and more.
Journal articles, & indexes books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on theatre & performance internationally. Some as far back as 1900, mostly 1970+. 90% in English. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
An index with full-text and abstracts of articles on music. Includes indexing for music articles and obituaries from the New York Times and The Washington Post. Covers nearly all aspects of music, including scholarly studies and popular trends.
Oxford Music Online is the online gateway for access to the Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Undergraduate students should start all of their research with Oxford/Grove Music. Oxford/Grove Music is a dictionary that functions like an encyclopedia, featuring articles from field experts and can generally help you gain a basic understand of a topic or narrow down your research interests.
Multidisciplinary information resource designed specifically for the performing arts. It provides indexing, abstracts and selected full text from scholarly journals and other performing arts periodicals covering film, theatre, dance, stagecraft, and television.
Full-text articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses; includes literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy and religion, political science, medicine and health, gender studies. Most coverage 1990s to present, consult the journal list, as coverage varies for each title. NOTE: DePauw subscribes only to the journal coverage (Premium Collection) and not the digital book collection.
Abstracts and citations to music scholarship. Sponsored by the International Musicological Society, the International Association of Music Libraries, and the International Council on Traditional Music.
Temporarily Free Content Due to the COVID-19 Emergency
Articles (and article summaries) from journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations covering behavioral science and mental health. Most published since 1880's, a few as old as 1597. PsycINFO links directly to articles in PsycARTICLES.