Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Great starting point, with something for every subject!
- What's included? Lots of full-text, mostly peer-reviewed and recent, with some older and popular sources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? It’s an excellent tool for scholarly articles and books/chapters from university presses, covering most disciplines.
- What's included? The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles covering 75 disciplines, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues - the coverage skews older, so it’s not always a great starting point for researching topics that need to have the most current sources.
Spanish Language database:
Fuente Academica Premier This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You want to read sources from Latin America, Spain, and Portugal, covering a wide range of topics.
- What's included? Journal articles covering all disciplines, mostly in Spanish language (with some in English and Portuguese).
Databases likely to cover ethnic groups and topics of identity:
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’re researching topics about gender issues.
- What's included? Articles from journals, magazines, newspapers (some working papers & dissertations), published since 1970. Almost all are full text. Gender studies, men's studies, & women's studies.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You want contemporary/recent news, reported from the minority press, or scholarly journals in Ethnic Studies.
- What's included? Newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, predominately in the United States, 1959-present. Includes Asian-American, Jewish-American, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European-American, multi-ethnic communities and more.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’re writing about a topic in sociology or related fields.
- What's included? International academic literature of sociology and related disciplines, including the companion file Social Services Abstracts, which is current research focused on social work & human services. Mostly from 1990s+.
Databases specific to other subjects:
Your topics will span across other disciplines - many of these disciplines may have databases devoted just to them. I'm listing a few here, based on topics your professor said you were considering. But you can find others by going to the Databases A-Z list, and changing the drop-down "subject" list at the top.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? This is the principal resource for scholarship in languages, linguistics and literature.
- What's included? Full-text articles from scholarly journals, citations for books and dissertations, proceedings, essays and bibliographies are international in scope. The Thesaurus identifies terminology appearing in current scholarship to create more precise searches. Folklore, the history of printing and publishing, dramatic arts, film and broadcasting are also included.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’re researching topics related to education, from preschool to college.
- What's included? Lists 1.5 million sources dating from 1966 to the present, including scholarly articles, but also many reports and conference proceedings.
Film & Television Literature Index Full Text This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’re doing research on film or television.
- What's included? Journal articles on film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need sources for projects related to communication and media.
- What's included? Scholarly journal articles - 917 active indexed and abstracted journals, including full-text for 192 of them.