Skip to Main Content
Databases for journal articles
-
Academic Search Elite
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Great starting point, with something for every subject!
- What's included? Lots of full-text, mostly peer-reviewed and recent, with some older and popular sources.
-
JSTOR
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? It’s an excellent tool for scholarly articles and books/chapters from university presses, covering most disciplines.
- What's included? The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles covering 75 disciplines, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues - the coverage skews older, so it’s not always a great starting point for researching topics that need to have the most current sources.
-
MLA International Bibliography
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? This is the principal resource for scholarship in languages, linguistics and literature.
- What's included? Full-text articles from scholarly journals, citations for books and dissertations, proceedings, essays and bibliographies are international in scope. The Thesaurus identifies terminology appearing in current scholarship to create more precise searches. Folklore, the history of printing and publishing, dramatic arts, film and broadcasting are also included.
-
Google Scholar
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need a variety of scholarly and professional sources like journal articles, books, reports, and proceedings.
- What's included? Information about published sources, sometimes with links to the full-text, covering most disciplines.
- Note:Follow these instructions to set your Google Scholar settings for access to DePauw's Full Text when available: Google Scholar FAQ
-
International Bibliography of Art
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’re looking for materials regarding European, American, and global art.
- What's included? Provides coverage of international art scholarship ranging from European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
-
ARTbibliographies Modern
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’re researching topics related to Art, Art History, Prints, Photography, and Film.
- What's included? Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art (from the late 19th century onwards), including the history of photography.
-
Music Periodicals Database
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’re doing research on music.
- What's included? An index with full-text and abstracts of articles on music. Includes indexing for music articles and obituaries from the New York Times and The Washington Post. Covers nearly all aspects of music, including scholarly studies and popular trends.
