Skip to Main Content

Recommended Digital Tools

Browzine

The library is excited to offer faculty access to our scholarly journals through BrowZine. BrowZine is a service that allows you to browse, read and follow scholarly journals in a beautiful visual display.
With BrowZine, you can:

• Browse and read journals: Browse thousands of top journals by subject, easily review tables of contents, and download full articles.

• Stay Current with My Bookshelf: Create a personal bookshelf of titles to follow and receive new article notifications.

• Access on any device: Easily access BrowZine from your iOS and Android device and on the web to stay up to date wherever you are.

• Save and export articles: Use the BrowZine app to save articles for off-line reading or export to services such as DropBox, Mendeley, RefWorks, EndNote, Zotero, Papers and more.

Try out a search here:

Search e-journals

Or use this drop down to view journal content in the selected subject area:

 

 

 

 

 

Note: This will include some journals for which we don't have access to current issues - these will be noted on the journal page like this:

  1. Go to https://browzine.com/libraries/1792/subjects.
  2. Click on "My Bookshelf" in the top bar, then choose the "Sign up" link to create an account. You'll want this later so that you can save journals and articles of interest. You can browse journals without this step, however - you just won't be able to save them.

  3. Browse by subject, or search for a specific title.


  4. When you click on a journal title, you can then browse issues for the past several years, and click on articles to read. At this point, Browzine is connecting you with the article text in the databases where they're held (JSTOR, Ebsco, etc.), so it will take you to another interface.

    If you are off-campus, you'll be prompted to log in to your DePauw account via the "proxy server" in order to read the articles. This is the same username & password used to log into Moodle and e-Services. 
  5. Add journals of interest to "my bookshelf." 


  6. Add articles to read later to "my articles." 


  7. After clicking on the “Save to my Articles” button, it will ask you which collection you want to save it to. “General Collection” is the default (in my example, I’ve renamed this to “Libraries”). You can choose to add it to another collection, or create a new one. You cannot move it among collections later.


     
  8. On "My Bookshelf," you can organize and arrange your journals in categories that are meaningful for you. Journals with new articles will be identified with a red circle with the number of unread articles listed. 


  9. You can clear that notification by reading the articles, or by marking an entire issue OR journal as read. 

 

  1. On the "My Articles" screen, you'll see the articles you've saved. All articles went to the "General Collection" section unless you stated otherwise. You can rename this collection (as I've done here - to "Libraries"), but you cannot delete it. You can create new collections on this screen for saving future articles - but you cannot move articles among collections. 


 

While BrowZine has tracked new articles in journals saved to My Bookshelf, up until now users have had to open the BrowZine application in order to see if any new articles were available. Email alerts both deliver a proactive alert and a summary of which journals have new articles available, similar to the example on the right.

The BrowZine alert will be sent to the email address used to create the BrowZine account.  Notifications can be configured to be received daily, weekly, or "off" to receive no email notifications.  The default is weekly.  If no new articles are added to followed journals within the selected time period, no email alert is sent.

With a weekly email notification, emails will be generated and sent out Monday morning Central US time.  The email alert journals which have added new articles within the last 7 days.  With a daily notification, the email is delivered each morning (Central US time) and is based in the morning and is based on the previous day's new article additions.

The email contains a "Read Now" button next to each journal title.  Clicking it takes users directly to that title, making it easy to stay up to date with current articles!