Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Current Awareness Services: Keeping Up with the Literature: Search Alerts/Saved Searches

Search alerts

Many databases allow you to create a personal account, and then save searches that you want to be able to repeat later. Additionally, you can have alerts set to notify you when new sources (that match your search terms) are added to the database. On this page, I'll show how to do this in three popular database interfaces: Ebsco, ProQuest, and Science Direct. 

Ebsco

A list of databases we get through the Ebsco interface

To receive email alerts of saved searches, you must first create an Ebsco account. This is not connected to DePauw's network username/password. When in any Ebsco database, click on the "Sign In" button at the top right of the screen

You can choose to either associate Ebsco with your Google account, or create an account. 

Once you're logged in, you'll see the "MyEbsco" logo by the search boxes. Enter your search terms.

When you have the results on the screen, click on the "share" drop-down menu, and look for the "e-mail alert" option

You have several ways to customize the email alerts. In my example below, I entered my email address, adapted the frequency with which emails would be sent (default is once a day) and the recency of the articles I wanted included in the alerts (the default is one year). I also changed the format from "brief" to "detailed." 

Database Interfaces

A list of databases we get in the ProQuest interface. - choose the database you want to search within ProQuest.

To receive email alerts of saved searches, you must first create a ProQuest account. This is not connected to DePauw's network username/password. When in any ProQuest database, click on the "person" button at the top right of the screen, then choose "Sign into my research." 

 

After that, choose the option to "Create a MyResearch Account" and fill out the information in the form.

 

Create a search where you want to notified of new results that match those terms. Click on the "save search/alert" pull-down menu on the right side of the screen, above the results list. From that menu, choose "create alert." 

The next form will ask you to name the search, determine the frequency of alerts, etc. Fill that out to your preferences, and wait for your emails to arrive! 

As with the other providers, you must first set up an account and be logged into it to create search alerts. This is not related to your DePauw login, so you can choose any email address and password you like. The options to sign in and create an account are at the top of the search page. 

Once you're logged in to your account, enter your search terms and get the combination where you want to be notified if new articles are added that match those keywords. Then choose the "Set search alert" option on the left side of the screen.

You'll be asked to give the search a title and choose the frequency (weekly or monthly) for the alerts. 

If you want to cancel the alert (or change its title/frequency) later, you can do that by clicking on your name in the top bar, and choose the "Manage Alerts" option

 

Google Alerts

Google can notify you when there are new results for specific search terms. Go to the https://www.google.com/alerts page to get started. 

You will see a search box - enter the search terms that you want to search for. You can leave them as-is, or look at the options provided by clicking on that drop-down menu.

 

If you choose the options menu, you'll see the following choices where you can change how/when you're notified. 

 

Any search alerts you've set will show up on the google alerts page, and you can edit/delete them from there.