Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digital Libraries with Freely Available Texts
Digitized collections, books, journals, etc. from libraries and research institutions. Full-text access and downloading is available for materials published before 1923, including: US federal government documents; works still protected by copyright, but made available to HathiTrust with the permission of the copyright holder. Includes ability to keyword search the entire HathiTrust Digital Library, both public domain and in-copyright titles, to facilitate information discovery.
"Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more."
Search Millions of Research Papers:
This full-text search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals through the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web.
"Project Gutenberg offers over 53,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online."
"OpenDOAR (Directory of Open Access Repositories) is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories."
"Efforts led by a range of organizations, including the Library of Congress, HathiTrust, and the Internet Archive, have successfully built resources that provide books, images, historic records, and audiovisual materials to anyone with Internet access. Many universities, public libraries, and other public-spirited organizations have digitized materials, but these digital collections often exist in silos. The DPLA brings these different viewpoints, experiences, and collections together in a single platform and portal, providing open and coherent access to our society’s digitized cultural heritage."
This search tool is from George Mason University, their Metafinder searches a wide variety of content including open access books and articles, documents in the public domain, and OER. One piece of advice is to limit your search to "OER-specific sites" to keep your results manageable.
Library Licensed Materials
QWEST TV EDU
Qwest.tv is a database of streaming video of 20th and 21st century jazz, R&B and world music. It was created by Quincy Jones and Reza Ackbaraly.
Kanopy Streaming Video
Streams more than 26,000 films and documentaries. Mostly indie, classic & international, not recent blockbusters, from creators like PBS, the BBC, the Criterion Collection, and New Day Films.
National Theatre Collection
Streaming video of productions and unique archival material offering insight into theatre and performance studies.
Naxos Music Library
Streaming audio of classical music, plus some world music and jazz. Includes brief discussions of the works and biographical information on composers and artists.
Naxos Music Library Jazz
Online streaming jazz music. Over 250 labels, including Blue Note Records, EMI, Fantasy, and Warner Jazz.
Naxos Music Library World
Online streaming world music. Over 250 labels, including Smithsonian Folkways, 100 Beats, ARC, Celestial Harmonies, and Footprint Records.
Swank Digital Campus
Streaming academic films. Please contact the library to request additional titles: email@example.com
Journal article archive, covering humanities, social sciences and science. Begins with vol. 1, issue 1, 1800's, or even earlier (most titles exclude the most recent 3-5 years; some titles have current issue access).
EBSCO eBook Collection
About 9,000 ebooks; copyright dates mostly between 1944 and 2009. Most titles are 1B1U (single user at a time).
Over 100,000 books in a variety of subject areas, including publications from major academic publishers. Sections (60 pages or less) can be printed. New books are added on a regular basis. NOTE: To download content (which automatically expires, like a "loan"), log in via the Bookshelf Tab or Sign In link using your DePauw network username and password .
Oxford Scholarship Online
Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) provides access to hundreds of books from Oxford University Press. Humanities, social sciences, science, medicine, and law.
Other Open Access Resources
Engaging Students in Scholarly Communication
Allows anyone to easily add annotations to website content. It can be especially useful for facilitating online discussions of course readings. Public annotations are visible to provide insight of how readers engage with the texts but private groups can be created for a class or breakout groups to facilitate discussion.
Once installed into an Internet browser, this extension allows users to easily view an open access version of the paywalled article they wish to read at the push of a button. Definitely a good tool to promote to students with limited access to academic content through their library, or who are about to graduate and lose access to subscription content.
Can provide insights into how an article has been shared and engaged with online. Articles must have a digital object identifier (DOI). This tool can show students that interactions across platforms, even informal ones, are engagement with research.