What's included? Both an encyclopedia and dictionary, Oxford/Grove Music Online is a reference source offering articles, biographies, and audio on music worldwide.
Why search here? You’re looking for a wide variety of books, articles, journals, DVDs, CDs, etc, including physical items held by DePauw libraries.
What's included? A record of what DePauw owns, with call numbers for physical items; along with links to full-text items, and records for items that DePauw doesn’t own, but that we can request via interlibrary loan.
Note: This is the search box on the libraries' home page.
What's included? Abstracts and citations to music scholarship. Sponsored by the International Musicological Society, the International Association of Music Libraries, and the International Council on Traditional Music.
What's included? An index with full-text and abstracts of articles on music. Includes indexing for music articles and obituaries from the New York Times and The Washington Post. Covers nearly all aspects of music, including scholarly studies and popular trends.
Why search here? It’s an excellent tool for scholarly articles and books/chapters from university presses, covering most disciplines.
What's included? The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles covering 75 disciplines, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues - the coverage skews older, so it’s not always a great starting point for researching topics that need to have the most current sources.
Why search here? You’re doing research on popular and world music.
What's included? Bloomsbury Popular Music provides in-depth analysis of popular music in a global context. It includes Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World, the 33 1/3 series of books exploring key albums, and more.
Why search here? You’re researching topics about gender issues.
What's included? Articles from journals, magazines, newspapers (some working papers & dissertations), published since 1970. Almost all are full text. Gender studies, men's studies, & women's studies.
Why search here? You want to read graduate student dissertations and theses on a topic - often giving you extensive bibliographies, and occasionally cutting edge research on new topics.
What's included? Index of doctoral dissertations and some master's theses from most North American and many European colleges and universities. Starts in 1743. Full text is available for over 1 million, mostly since 1996.
Women in Music by 
