Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
...And We Were Heard
Giving underrepresented composers a platform to have their music heard, …And We Were Heard connects composers to ensembles which record these works so they can be more fully promoted.
Created by a team of band directors including Dr. Kaitlin Bove, Cliff Croomes, Courtney Snyder Ng, Thomas Gamboa, Mary Kate McNally, and Ogechi Ukazu.
Alliance for Women Film Composers
A community of composers and colleagues who strive to support and celebrate the work of women composers through advocacy and education. This visibility is important to herald in equality amongst our industry and bring diverse voices to film, television, video games and multimedia projects. We are proud to host the first ever directory of women film composers allowing filmmakers and decision makers the opportunity to discover new talent.
Chamber Music America: The Composers Equity Project
A Database of ALAANA,* Women, and Gender Non-Conforming Composers
*African/Black, Latinx, Asian/South Asian, Arab/Middle Eastern, and Native American
Composer Diversity Project: Composer Diversity Database
The Composer Diversity Database allows users to discover over 4000 composers of historically underrepresented genders, racial, ethnic, and cultural heritages, and sexual orientations. You can search by composer name, living or deceased, common large and small ensemble genres, racial, ethnic, or cultural demographics, and by location (city, state, and country).
Composer Diversity Project: Works Diversity Database
The Works Diversity Database allows users to search for individual compositions with numerous search filters from among over 1,600 art songs by women as well as over 2,400 works for large and small wind ensembles and over 11,000 orchestral works by underrepresented composers. Filters include various ensemble genres, duration, and grade level, as well as composer demographics and location, and the results include instrumentation (when known) and links for rental & purchase as well as audio & video.
DONNE: Women in Music
Discover the lost world of women in music. Hear their stories in this website and listen to live interviews with women composers making their mark in the music world, now, today.
The Kapralova Society: Women in Music
The Kapralova Society is a Canadian non-profit music society, founded in 1998 in Toronto. An affiliate member of the International Alliance for Women in Music, the Society's mission is to promote interest in Kapralova and other women in music through scholarly research, education, and special projects, often in partnership with schools of music, public broadcasters, publishing houses, and other organizations. We encourage and assist recording and publishing of Kapralova's music, and seek to build awareness of women's contributions to musical life through our online resources.
Living Composers Directory
Music by Black Composers (MBC) is dedicated to helping to bring greater diversity to the ranks of classical music performers, composers, and audiences by making the music of Black composers available to everyone. MBC’s Living Composers Directory is designed for those seeking to commission; for performers, conductors, and concert programmers seeking existing music; and for other researchers and scholars of contemporary classical music.
Many Many Women: An Index of Over 1000 Composers, Improvisers, and Sonic Artists
The main focus of this index is on women making various kinds of experimental/avant garde music. Some of these artists may also work within more mainstream forms, but they are included here because of their other work that is more challenging.
No Broken Links
The No Broken Links directories are a starting point for scholars, performers, composers, and teachers to discover solo and chamber repertoire by minority composers for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, Saxophone, and Horn. The directories focus specifically on the work of womxn, transgender & gender non-conforming individuals, and/or Black, Indigenous, or persons of color.
Resources for Diversity in Early Music Repertoire
Compiled for the early music community by members and friends of EMA and the EMA Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, and Access Taskforce.
A Seat at the Piano: Promoting Inclusion in Piano Repertoire
A resource for pianists, pedagogues, and curious music appreciators to explore.
Women’s Philharmonic Advocacy
We celebrate the vast range of orchestral music by women, and encourage orchestras to program it! All around us people are suddenly aware of long-ingrained sexist practices, and questioning their entrenched status. We work to reveal the centuries of music by women, much of it lost to history due to gender bias – and help provide information and resources to make that music available.
Band Specific Resources
Diverse Composers of Wind Band Music
Covering nearly 3,500 pieces, this database includes three separate sheets for women composers, composers of color, and LGBTQIA+ composers, that are sortable by grade level, length, and have links to perusal scores and YouTube videos.
LGBTQ Band Composers Project
A list of pieces by composers who identify as members of the LGBTQ+ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and additional gender/sexuality minorities) community and who have written works for band. This is a working document and resource for conductors, educators, performers, and scholars interested in the music of LGBTQ+ band composers.
The Wind Repertory Project
The Wind Repertory Project™ is a comprehensive database of wind literature, expanded by contributions of band directors/conductors, students, and wind band enthusiasts worldwide. Here you will find detailed information on literature for winds, including program notes, instrumentation, errata, and much more.
Orchestra Specific Resources
Orchestra Season Analysis
For many reasons—popularity, accessibility, and resources among others—professional orchestras get a lot of attention when it comes to diversity in programming. This page contains data analysis of American orchestras in regard to programming works by composers from underrepresented groups. Only “mainstage” orchestral concerts are incorporated into these analyses and the emphasis is placed on the percentage of the total season rather than the raw number of works. Different works are counted separately and while we will annotate when more than one orchestra performs the same piece, we won’t be counting multiple performances of a work by the same orchestra. Finally, while the data does not include any works by non-binary composers as of yet, we look forward to providing positive data on that front in the future.
Voice Specific Resources
Beyond Elijah Rock: The Non-Idiomatic Choral Music of Black Composers
A working list of the non-idiomatic choral music of black composers. In no way is it meant to be an exhaustive list. However, it serves to provide a starting point. Regular updates will be made.
Kassia Database: The Women's Art Song Database
The Kassia Database is a resource geared toward aiding singers, instructors of voice, pianists, researchers, and music lovers to discover and celebrate art song by women composers. The database includes songs from the Baroque period through the 21st century, and have been categorized by level, voice type, language, composer, and composer dates. Related information includes range, tessitura, piano accompaniment, vocal line, and links to available scores. The analysis is intended for singers from beginning high school through the collegiate level and professional career. The database leads you to find the unique voices and expansive styles of each individual composer, with the hopes to increase performance and advocation of each woman's often overlooked works.
The Spirituals Database
The Spirituals Database offers searchable access to recorded track information for concert Negro Spiritual settings performed by solo Classical vocalists. The resource contains a selection from a century of historic and contemporary concert spiritual recordings produced on compact discs, long-playing (33 1/3 rpm) albums, 78 rpm records, 45 rpm discs, audio cassettes and streamed audio files, as well as demonstration recordings from musical score collections.
Theory Specific Resources
Music Theory Examples by Women
This is a database of excerpts and complete musical compositions by women composers. The music is categorized by theoretical concept for use in music education.