BUS 350 - New Venture Creation

Demographic Segmentation

Dividing a market into groups based on such demographic variables as age, sex, family size, family life cycle, income, occupation, education, religion, race, or nationality (see also market segmentation). While demographic segmentation has been popular in marketing, it is now used together with benefit, life-stage, and life-cycle segmentation to try to produce more predictable market information. See also geodemographic segmentation.

Oxford Dictionary of Business and Management

Consumer Resources

• Census Business Builder
  • Census Business Builder analyzes customers, market, and competition for your industry of interest. For more efficient searching, check out this video on how to search CBB.
• American Time Use Survey (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
  • The American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.
• Office of Textiles & Apparel (OTEXA)- International Trade Administration
  • A searchable database of manufacturers, suppliers, and contractors in the United States provided by the Department of Commerce. Useful for those seeking to source Made in the U.S.A. textiles, apparel, and footwear products.
• Survey of Income and Program Participation
  • The Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP) is a nationally representative longitudinal survey that provides comprehensive information on the dynamics of income, employment, household composition, and government program participation. SIPP is also a leading source of data on economic well-being, family dynamics, education, wealth, health insurance, child care, and food security. SIPP interviews individuals for several years and provides monthly data about changes in household and family composition and economic circumstances over time.

US Census Comprehensive Resources

• American Community Survey
  • One-year, 3-year, and 5-year estimates for the nation from the most recent release. Broad subject categories include social, economic, housing, and demographic.
• Data.census.gov
  • Data.census.gov is the platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.
• Census Reports by Topic
  • Census Bureau statistics are now organized by themes, or topics, making it easier for you to find what you need. Each topic and subtopic lists associated data, news, and more.
• Current Population Survey
  • The Current Population Survey (CPS), sponsored jointly by the U.S. Census Bureau and the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), is the primary source of labor force statistics for the population of the United States.
• Data USA
  • A collection of U.S. statistics and stories including information on demographics, public health, energy consumption, mean income and other topics categorized by location, industry, occupation and education.

Business Statistics

• County Business Patterns
  • County Business Patterns (CBP) is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry & employment size of the establishment. CBP data are useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for other statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses.
• Economic Census
  • Data produced from the Economic Census are based on the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) and several key statistics are tabulated including number of establishments, number of employees, payroll, and measure of output (sales, value of shipments, or revenue).
• Occupational Employment Statistics

  • The Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) program produces employment and wage estimates annually for approximately 830 occupations. These estimates are available for the nation as a whole, for individual states, and for metropolitan and nonmetropolitan areas; national occupational estimates for specific industries are also available.

• Metropolitan and Nonmetropolitan Area Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates
  • The Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) program produces employment and wage estimates for approximately 830 occupations based on a survey of business establishments (employers). The OEWS survey covers wage and salary workers in nonfarm establishments and does not include the self-employed, owners and partners in unincorporated firms, household workers, or unpaid family workers.

Housing Resources

• American Housing Survey
  • The American Housing Survey (AHS) is sponsored by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau. The survey has been the most comprehensive national housing survey in the United States since its inception in 1973, providing current information on the size, composition, and quality of the nation’s housing and measuring changes in our housing stock as it ages.
• Residential Finance Survey
  • The Census Bureau took the Residential Finance Survey (RFS) as part of the decennial census from 1950-2000. The RFS is the only survey designed to collect and produce data about the financing of nonfarm, privately-owned residential properties.

Specific Population Group Resources

• Aging, Independence, and Disability Program Portal
• American Indian and Alaska Native Populations
  • This website highlights the Census Bureau's relationship with tribal governments and provides important AIAN and tribal resources. The Census Bureau collects data for the AIAN population and publishes specific counts, estimates, and statistics.
• Foreign-Born Population

  • The foreign-born population includes anyone who is not a U.S. citizen at birth, including those who become U.S. citizens through naturalization. The native-born population includes anyone who is a U.S. citizen at birth.

State, County, and Local Resources

• County Business Patterns
  • County Business Patterns (CBP) is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry & employment size of the establishment. CBP data are useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for other statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses.
• Personal Income By State
  • Current-dollar personal income increased in 49 states and the District of Columbia
• QuickFacts
  • QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties. Also for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.