LibGuides: COMM 197B: Diverse Perspectives in US Theatre: Starting Your Search

Search Strategically

Make the most of your search and search strategically:

Search for materials that are available digitally (i.e. eBooks, eMusic, etc)
Do a quick scan for background information
Create a list of concepts and keywords relevant to your search topic
Group those concepts together or combine different concepts
Use terminology and facts learned from your background information
Look at the bibliographies of resources that you like If you like their ideas, who inspired them?
Make sure you evaluate while searching:
- Where is this information coming from?
- Is the source biased? Scholarly? Dated?

Useful Journals

American theatre. by Theatre Communications Group. American Theatre covers theatrical trends and events, stage artists of every stripe, and economic and legislative developments affecting the arts. Its main purview is America’s wide-ranging network of professional, not-for-profit theatres—commercial, amateur or university theatre is less frequently covered—and the magazine does not review productions (but does review theatre-related books). Important international theatre is regularly featured, and significant productions in the U.S. and abroad are highlighted under such headings as “Critic’s Notebook,” “Currents,” “First Person” and “Global Spotlight.” The complete scripts of major new American plays, accompanied by provocative playwright interviews, appear five times each year.
The Journal of American drama and theatre. JADT publishes thoughtful and innovative work by leading scholars on theatre, drama, and performance in the Americas – past and present. Provocative articles provide valuable insight and information on the heritage of American theatre, as well as its continuing contribution to world literature and the performing arts. Founded in 1989 and previously edited by Professors Vera Mowry Roberts, Jane Bowers, and David Savran, this widely acclaimed peer reviewed journal is now edited by Dr. Benjamin Gillespie and Dr. Bess Rowen.
Marquee : the journal of the Theatre Historical Society. THS produces Marquee™ (ISSN 0025-3928), a quarterly magazine which has been published continuously since 1969. Authors and contributors are members of our organization and because of their vast interests in the field, each edition is a specially curated journey through theatre history. Our publications serve as primary vehicles for showcasing materials from our collections. A year’s subscription to Marquee is a benefit of membership in THS.
Theatre journal. by Association for Theatre in Higher Education (U.S.) Theatre Journal is a quarterly, peer-reviewed journal. For over seven decades, Theatre Journal's broad array of scholarly articles and reviews has earned it an international reputation as one of the most authoritative and useful publications of theatre studies available today. Drawing contributions from noted practitioners and scholars, Theatre Journal features book and production reviews, online resources, historical studies, and theoretical inquiries that analyze theatre and performance around the world.
Theatre survey. by American Society for Theatre Research. Theatre Survey is chartered by the American Society for Theatre Research as a theatre history journal. Its theatrical and historical orientations are broadly conceived. Performance-centered and historiographic studies from all points across the historical, cultural, and methodological spectra are welcome. Recent issues have included an article on the early professional deaf theatre in post-Stalinist Soviet Union, a study of the gestural vocabulary found in surviving images of early commedia dell'arte, a philosophical treatise by Alan Badiou, and an essay on the impact of neoliberalism—from the classroom to the department to the “global university”—that suggests how theatre and performance scholars might approach the political difficulties currently threatening the mission of higher education.

Selecting and Using Keywords

Video: Selecting and Using Keywords. PALNI (2016)

Refine Your Search With Filters

Use the built-in filters to refine your search. In addition to keywords or subject headings, make sure to pay attention to:

Location
Format (search for accessible content; i.e. downloadable article, eMusic, eBook, etc.)
Content Type (search for accessible content; i.e. downloadable article, eMusic, eBook, etc.)
Publication Year
Author/Creator
Subject
Databases
Language

Useful News and Media Sources

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You want news about what’s happening in colleges and universities.
- What's included? News articles and opinion pieces about higher education, mostly in the U.S.
The DePauw Libraries provides access to the Chronicle of Higher Education via a campus site license. Anyone with a current DePauw email account can sign up for a Chronicle account and get access to the newspaper. Find out more about how to set up your account (or renew your access) here.
Economist (campus license) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You want an intelligent newsmagazine source that covers politics, economics, business, and current affairs.
- What's included? All content from The Economist magazine, back to 1997, along with additional digital content, such as podcasts.
The DePauw Libraries provides access to the Economist via a campus site license. Anyone with a current DePauw email account can sign up for an Economist account and get access to the news magazine. Find out more about how to set up your account (or renew your access) here .
New York Times (campus license) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You keep hitting the “you’ve read more than your 5 free articles” message.
- What's included? Access the New York Times daily newspaper on your computer, smartphone or tablet. (Note: this will not work on Kindle readers, only Kindle Fire.) Get the news each day along with other digital-only content via the web or the NYT app. All you need is your @depauw.edu email address to register.
The DePauw Libraries provides access to the New York Times via a campus site license. Anyone with a current DePauw email account can sign up for a NYT account and get access to the paper and archives on web browser and NYT mobile apps. Find out more about how to set up your account (or renew your access) here.
Wall Street Journal (campus license) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You want to read up-to-date business and current events stories from this major U.S. newspaper - on a website interface, and you’ve run out of free articles.
- What's included? Access to The Wall Street Journal website, available after registering with your campus email address.
The DePauw Libraries provides access to the Wall Street Journal via a campus site license. Anyone with a current DePauw email account can sign up for a WSJ account and get access to the paper and archives on web browser and WSJ mobile apps. Find out more about how to set up your account (or renew your access) here .
Washington Post (campus license) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You want to read up-to-date news stories from this major U.S. newspaper - on a website interface, and you’ve run out of free articles.
- What's included? Full-access to the print and digital content of the Washington Post website.
The DePauw Libraries provides access to the Washington Post via a campus site license. Anyone with a current DePauw email account can sign up for a Washington Post account and get access to the paper and archives on web browser and Washington Post mobile apps. Find out more about how to set up your account (or renew your access) here .