Skip to Main Content
Databases for Kinesiology & Biomechanics
-
Academic Search Elite
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Great starting point, with something for every subject!
- What's included? Lots of full-text, mostly peer-reviewed and recent, with some older and popular sources.
-
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’re doing research for a Kinesiology class.
- What's included? Citations to articles from over 600 journals, covering topics such as athletic training, coaching, health education, kinesiology, nutrition, occupational health, PE, physical therapy, sociology/psychology of sports, sports management, and sports science.
-
Annual Reviews
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You want to read summaries of previous research on a topic, giving you historical context and current understanding of the subject, as well as a list of sources to consult.
- What's included? Over 30,000 literature reviews in the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, dating back to 1932.
-
Health Source: Consumer Edition
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You are looking for general health information.
- What's included? Non-technical articles on health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You are looking for research articles on medical topics.
- What's included? Scholarly full text journals covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
-
JSTOR
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? It’s an excellent tool for scholarly articles and books/chapters from university presses, covering most disciplines.
- What's included? The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles covering 75 disciplines, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues - the coverage skews older, so it’s not always a great starting point for researching topics that need to have the most current sources.
-
PubMed
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You are searching for articles in the health and medical sciences.
- What's included? 26+ million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles.
-
Science Direct College Editions
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You are looking for full-text scholarly articles on science, education, psychology and business topics.
- What's included? Full-text of over 5000 journal titles in the areas of science, technology, business and medicine, published by Elsevier. A growing number of e-books are also included.
