LibGuides: KINS 197: FYS Discovering Human Performance: Finding Research Articles + Science News Sources

Finding articles in kinesiology and biomechanics

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Great starting point, with something for every subject!
- What's included? Lots of full-text, mostly peer-reviewed and recent, with some older and popular sources.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You want to read summaries of previous research on a topic, giving you historical context and current understanding of the subject, as well as a list of sources to consult.
- What's included? Over 30,000 literature reviews in the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, dating back to 1932.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You are looking for general health information.
- What's included? Non-technical articles on health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You are looking for research articles on medical topics.
- What's included? Scholarly full text journals covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? It’s an excellent tool for scholarly articles and books/chapters from university presses, covering most disciplines.
- What's included? The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles covering 75 disciplines, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues - the coverage skews older, so it’s not always a great starting point for researching topics that need to have the most current sources.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You are searching for articles in the health and medical sciences.
- What's included? 26+ million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles.
Science Direct College Editions This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You are looking for full-text scholarly articles on science, education, psychology and business topics.
- What's included? Full-text of over 500 journal titles in the areas of science, technology, business and medicine.

Google Scholar

General Science Magazines & News Sources

Science News: free website and on-campus access via EBSCO

The Scientist: free website and on-campus access via EBSCO

Scientific American and via JSTOR (back issues)

New Scientist: free website and on-campus access via EBSCO (30 day delay)

Discover: free website and on-campus access via EBSCO

American Scientist: back issues (1942-2017) are in JSTOR. 2002-present issues are in Academic Search Complete

Science Section of the New York Times

AAAS (American Association for the Advancement of Science): EurekAlert

Finding articles in business and economics

EconLit This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need scholarly research in the field of Economics.
- What's included? Citations and abstracts from journal articles in economics, finance, business administration, labor, and industrial organization.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? It’s an excellent tool for scholarly articles and books/chapters from university presses, covering most disciplines.
- What's included? The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles covering 75 disciplines, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues - the coverage skews older, so it’s not always a great starting point for researching topics that need to have the most current sources.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’re looking for articles for business research.
- What's included? Articles from over 3800 scholarly and trade publications in management, economics, finance, accounting and international business, as far back as 1886. Also, company profiles and Marketline reports.
- Note: This includes the Harvard Business Review, with unlimited use for classroom readings.