A Beginner's LibGuide to Film Studies

This guide offers profiles of over 80 jobs in the film industry. Each profile details job duties, required experience and skills, advancement opportunities and salary ranges. Information is included on colleges, universities, film schools and websites, and there is a glossary of industry jargon.

This volume of specially commissioned work by experts in the field of film studies provides a comprehensive overview of the field. Its international and interdisciplinary approach will have a broad appeal to those interested in this multifaceted subject. Provides a major collection of specially commissioned work by experts in the field of film studies. Represents material under a variety of headings, including class, race, gender, queer theory, nation, stars, ethnography, authorship, and spectatorship. Offers an international approach to the subject, including coverage of topics such as genre, image, sound, editing, culture industries, early cinema, classical Hollywood, and TV relations and technology. Includes concise chapter-by-chapter accounts of the background and current approaches to each topic, followed by a prognostication on the future. Considers cinema studies in relation to other forms of knowledge, such as critical studies, anthropology, and literature.

This new dictionary is the first in-depth reference to cover the approaches deployed in the study of the moving image as well as key theoretical terms. Featuring over 400 entries ranging from 500 to 3,000 words, this resource gives a context to the debates surrounding the terms rather than simplistic "definitions." The dictionary is destined to be a key reference for students of communication, media, film and cultural studies, art, design and literature.

This title begins with seven essays providing a historical analysis of Hindi films. It then carries on to provide insight into the Indian film industry's internal dynamics. It also includes special contributions from prominent figures in the industry and interviews with Hindi film legends.

The Encyclopedia of Chinese Film, one of the first ever encyclopedias in this area, provides alphabetically organized entries on directors, genres, themes, and actors and actresses from mainland China, Hong Kong and Taiwan as well as 300 film synopses. Great care has been taken to provide solid cultural and historical context to the facts. The alphabetical entries are preceded by a substantial historical section, incorporating material on the the main studios and analysing the impact of Chinese film abroad as well as at home in recent years. This Encyclopedia meets the needs, equally, of * the film studies scholar * the student of Chinese culture * the specialist in Chinese film * the curious viewer wanting to know more. Additional features include: * comprehensive cross-references and suggestions for further reading * a list of relevant websites * a chronology of films and a classified contents list * three indexes - (one of film and tv titles with directors names and year of release, one of names including actors, writers, directors and producers and one of studios, all with pinyin romanizations) * a glossary of pinyin romanizations, Chinese characters and English equivalents to aid the specialist in moving between Chinese titles and English translations.

The Encyclopedia of the Documentary Film is a fully international reference work on the history of the documentary film from the Lumière brothers' Workers Leaving the Lumière Factory (1885) to Michael Moore's Fahrenheit 911 (2004). This Encyclopedia provides a resource that critically analyzes that history in all its aspects. Not only does this Encyclopedia examine individual films and the careers of individual film makers, it also provides overview articles of national and regional documentary film history. It explains concepts and themes in the study of documentary film, the techniques used in making films, and the institutions that support their production, appreciation, and preservation.

The term film noir was first applied by French critics to a number of American films that made their way to France over a period of six weeks at the end of World War II. These films, such as The Maltese Falcon, Murder, My Sweet, This Gun for Hire and The Big Sleep, fascinated French moviegoers with their new breed of criminals - love-starved husbands and wives, local business owners, writers, gamblers, small-time hoods, private eyes, mental patients, war veterans, rebellious teenagers and corrupt lawyers, politicians, judges and cops.

This unique reference work is designed to bridge the gap between guides and dictionaries that are primarily academic and theoretical and those that deal mainly in technical jargon. Above all, it is aimed at students of film and media who are likely to encounter a wide range of specialist language in a variety of places--in film reviews, critical essays, interviews with filmmakers and stars, and academic and Internet publications. The Film Studies Dictionary contains around 1,000 entries ranging from terms that have always puzzled audiences such as "best boy" and "gaffer" to those required by specialist students of film such as "post-colonial theory" and "third cinema." It uses a system of careful cross-referencing and concise and up-to-date references to further reading for exploration.

The Handbook of Visual Analysis is a rich methodological resource for students, academics, researchers and professionals interested in investigating the visual representation of socially significant issues. The Handbook: · Offers a wide-range of methods for visual analysis: content analysis, historical analysis, structuralist analysis, iconography, psychoanalysis, social semiotic analysis, film analysis and ethnomethodology · Shows how each method can be applied for the purposes of specific research projects. · Exemplifies each approach through detailed analyses of a variety of data, including, newspaper images, family photos, drawings, art works and cartoons. · Includes examples from the authors′ own research and professional practice. The Handbook of Visual Analysis which demonstrates the importance of visual data within the social sciences offers an essential guide to those working in a range of disciplines including: media and communication studies, sociology, anthropology, education, psychoanalysis, and health studies.

The Holocaust has been the subject of an increasing number of recent films, most notably Schindler's List, Life Is Beautiful, and The Pianist, all of which were rewarded with many Academy Awards. But the history of films dealing with this important subject goes back much further than the early nineties, and the two-volume Holocaust Film Sourcebook will be the first comprehensive guide to them. It responds to this growing body of cinematic work that is uniquely intertwined with historical reality--and which often tries to recreate that reality for the audience. As more scholars and viewers turn to cinema for a greater understanding of the 20th century's greatest atrocity, this work is invaluable, offering readers a guide through all films--fictional, documentary, and propaganda--related to the Holocaust and its effects, including filmographies, bibliographies, production histories, and spotlight essays on key pictures. In doing so, it considers the questions at the root of Holocaust cinema: can reality be represented? What kinds of stories are best suited to it? What moral issues are at stake? But most importantly, in the course of hundreds of entries and a wealth of information, it provides complete coverage of a subject that is at once timely, historical, creative, and unendingly controversial. Of use to film buffs, historians, and researchers, The Holocaust Film Sourcebook provides an invaluable resource.

The essence of literary theory is to examine and explain why the category 'literature' has enduring cultural importance, says Klages, and to interrogate the forces that manipulate how people describe that importance. She argues that literary theory explains what literature is, how it differs from other kinds of writing, and how it functions within a cultural context. Her survey of approaches covers structuralism, deconstruction, psychoanalysis, feminist theories, queer theories, ideology and discourse, race and postcolonialism, ecocriticism, and postmodernism. She also includes biographical sketches of important figures in literary theory, and a glossary of terms.