FILM 197B FYS: Story Maps: Dissecting the Structure of the One-Hour Television Pilot: Databases and Indexes
This guide was created to support the students enrolled in Professor Autman's and FILM 197B FYS: Story Maps: Dissecting the Structure of the One-Hour Television Pilot (Fall 2022).
Access databases and indexes through this guide or the Databases A-Z page in order to access resources off campus using DePauw's proxy server.
Temporarily Free Content Due to the COVID-19 Emergency is being added to the Databases A-Z page regularly. New content is highlighted on the right side of the page under New/Trial Databases, see the yellow arrow below.
This should alleviate any access issues you may have off campus.
Please reach out to me (zouayang@depauw.edu) if you have any problems accessing online resources or questions.
Databases A-Z
[alt text: screenshot of DePauw's Databases A-Z list with a large yellow arrow pointing to the New/Trial Databases area]
Why search here? You’re looking for peer-reviewed art resources.
What's included? Peer-reviewed articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals and magazines covering fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. Also indexes book reviews, dissertations, and art reproductions.
Why search here? You’re doing research on film or television.
What's included? Journal articles on film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Why search here? You need current news from news wires, newspapers, television, and radio shows.
What's included? News reports from the last 90 days. Compiled from around 300 McClatchy-Tribune Information Services sources, it includes newspaper articles, news wires, television show transcripts, and radio broadcast transcripts. Sources are raw text only.
Why search here? This is the principal resource for scholarship in languages, linguistics and literature.
What's included? Full-text articles from scholarly journals, citations for books and dissertations, proceedings, essays and bibliographies are international in scope. The Thesaurus identifies terminology appearing in current scholarship to create more precise searches. Folklore, the history of printing and publishing, dramatic arts, film and broadcasting are also included.
Why search here? You need academic journals in the performing arts.
What's included? Performing Arts Periodicals Database covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
Why search here? You want to read about books, the arts, and culture.
What's included? 1902 to a few years ago. Includes book reviews, book extracts, essays & poems from leading writers from around the world. Also major articles on subjects from anthropology to zoology, philosophy to politics, comedy to psychology. Also reviews of the latest in fiction, film, opera, theatre, dance, radio and television.
Why search here? You want to read graduate student dissertations and theses on a topic - often giving you extensive bibliographies, and occasionally cutting edge research on new topics.
What's included? Index of doctoral dissertations and some master's theses from most North American and many European colleges and universities. Starts in 1743. Full text is available for over 1 million, mostly since 1996.
Why search here? It’s an excellent tool for scholarly articles and books/chapters from university presses, covering most disciplines.
What's included? The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles covering 75 disciplines, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues - the coverage skews older, so it’s not always a great starting point for researching topics that need to have the most current sources.
Why search here? You need scholarly articles on the humanities and social sciences.
What's included? Project Muse is a collection of established and longstanding scholarly journals in full-text for humanities and social sciences journals. Strengths of this collection include its caliber of content with historical and the current holdings.
