LibGuides: FILM 197B FYS: Story Maps: Dissecting the Structure of the One-Hour Television Pilot: Starting Your Search

Search Strategically

Make the most of your search and search strategically:

Search for materials that are available digitally (i.e. eBooks, eMusic, etc)
Do a quick scan for background information
Create a list of concepts and keywords relevant to your search topic
Group those concepts together or combine different concepts
Use terminology and facts learned from your background information
Look at the bibliographies of resources that you like If you like their ideas, who inspired them?
Make sure you evaluate while searching:
- Where is this information coming from?
- Is the source biased? Scholarly? Dated?

Useful Journals

Selecting and Using Keywords

Refine Your Search With Filters

Use the built-in filters to refine your search. In addition to keywords or subject headings, make sure to pay attention to:

Location
Format (search for accessible content; i.e. downloadable article, eMusic, eBook, etc.)
Content Type (search for accessible content; i.e. downloadable article, eMusic, eBook, etc.)
Publication Year
Author/Creator
Subject
Databases
Language

Useful News and Media Sources

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You want news about what’s happening in colleges and universities.
- What's included? News articles and opinion pieces about higher education, mostly in the U.S.
The DePauw Libraries provides access to the Chronicle of Higher Education via a campus site license. Anyone with a current DePauw email account can sign up for a Chronicle account and get access to the newspaper. Find out more about how to set up your account (or renew your access) here.
Economist (campus license) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You want an intelligent newsmagazine source that covers politics, economics, business, and current affairs.
- What's included? All content from The Economist magazine, back to 1997, along with additional digital content, such as podcasts.
The DePauw Libraries provides access to the Economist via a campus site license. Anyone with a current DePauw email account can sign up for an Economist account and get access to the news magazine. Find out more about how to set up your account (or renew your access) here .
New York Times (campus license) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You keep hitting the “you’ve read more than your 5 free articles” message.
- What's included? Access the New York Times daily newspaper on your computer, smartphone or tablet. (Note: this will not work on Kindle readers, only Kindle Fire.) Get the news each day along with other digital-only content via the web or the NYT app. All you need is your @depauw.edu email address to register.
The DePauw Libraries provides access to the New York Times via a campus site license. Anyone with a current DePauw email account can sign up for a NYT account and get access to the paper and archives on web browser and NYT mobile apps. Find out more about how to set up your account (or renew your access) here.
Wall Street Journal (campus license) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You want to read up-to-date business and current events stories from this major U.S. newspaper - on a website interface, and you’ve run out of free articles.
- What's included? Access to The Wall Street Journal website, available after registering with your campus email address.
The DePauw Libraries provides access to the Wall Street Journal via a campus site license. Anyone with a current DePauw email account can sign up for a WSJ account and get access to the paper and archives on web browser and WSJ mobile apps. Find out more about how to set up your account (or renew your access) here .
Washington Post (campus license) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You want to read up-to-date news stories from this major U.S. newspaper - on a website interface, and you’ve run out of free articles.
- What's included? Full-access to the print and digital content of the Washington Post website.
The DePauw Libraries provides access to the Washington Post via a campus site license. Anyone with a current DePauw email account can sign up for a Washington Post account and get access to the paper and archives on web browser and Washington Post mobile apps. Find out more about how to set up your account (or renew your access) here .

FILM 197B FYS: Story Maps: Dissecting the Structure of the One-Hour Television Pilot: Starting Your Search

Searching DePauw's Online Catalog

Search Strategically

Useful Journals

Selecting and Using Keywords

Refine Your Search With Filters

Useful News and Media Sources