LibGuides: HONR 491A SRF Senior Seminar: Other Open Educational Resources

Digital Libraries with Freely Available Texts

"Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more."

Project Gutenberg

"Project Gutenberg offers over 53,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online."

OpenDOAR

"OpenDOAR (Directory of Open Access Repositories) is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories."

Metafinder

Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)

This search tool is from George Mason University, their Metafinder searches a wide variety of content including open access books and articles, documents in the public domain, and OER. One piece of advice is to limit your search to "OER-specific sites" to keep your results manageable.

"Efforts led by a range of organizations, including the Library of Congress, HathiTrust, and the Internet Archive, have successfully built resources that provide books, images, historic records, and audiovisual materials to anyone with Internet access. Many universities, public libraries, and other public-spirited organizations have digitized materials, but these digital collections often exist in silos. The DPLA brings these different viewpoints, experiences, and collections together in a single platform and portal, providing open and coherent access to our society’s digitized cultural heritage."

Other Open Access Resources

Academia "Academia is the easiest way to share papers with millions of people across the world for free."
bioRxiv "bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals."
ResearchGate "Our mission is to connect the world of science and make research open to all."
Research Papers in Economics "RePEc is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 90 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics and related sciences. The heart of the project is a decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components, all maintained by volunteers. The collected data are then used in various services that serve the collected metadata to users or enhance it. "So far, over 1,900 archives from 90 countries have contributed about 2.3 million research pieces from 2,800 journals and 4,500 working paper series. About 50,000 authors have registered and 75,000 email subscriptions are served every week."
SocArXiv

HONR 491A SRF Senior Seminar

Digital Libraries with Freely Available Texts

Project Gutenberg

OpenDOAR

Metafinder

More

Other Open Access Resources