Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Feel free to email me if you have any questions about your research or if you'd like to set up a research consultation. Caroline Gilson / email@example.com
Use these library subscription databases to access articles
Science Direct College Editions This link opens in a new window
Includes some 1,600 full-text Elsevier journals in four collections: Health Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering, and Social Sciences & Humanities. Full-text coverage starts in 1995 or later (depending on journal) and continues to the present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Articles (or article summaries) from nursing and allied health journals, fact sheets and pamphlets. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
Biomedical Reference Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles (or article summaries) covering clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the pre-clinical sciences. Coverage: 1985-present. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles (or article summaries) from scholarly journals, newspapers and popular magazines covering most academic disciplines. Some as far back as early 1900's, but mostly since about 1970. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Literature reviews in biomedical sciences, physical sciences and social sciences.
Indianapolis Star (1903-2004) This link opens in a new window
Indianapolis Star (2009-) This link opens in a new window
Full page views of the Indianapolis Star since 2009, with a 3 month moving wall (i.e. most recent 3 months not available).
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles (or article summaries) from biomedical journals covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Also useful for musician health research. Free to all Indiana residents via INSPIRE.in.gov
What is a primary research article?
Here are some common characteristics of primary research articles:
- Author(s) present data and findings from original research after conducting an original experiment.
- A primary research article typically contains the following sections: Methods/Materials, Results, Discussion.
- Look for information on SI (Supplemental Information). This may include additional data and/or research information. Be sure to track down and read the SI for a complete understanding of the research being presented in the article.
What is a review article?
Here are some common characteristics of review articles:
- Author(s) analyze and summarize existing research.
- There is often a focus on a broad topic, examining articles that are relevant, useful.
- Review articles do not have sections such as Methods/Materials, Results.
- Author(s) may conclude a review article with a section outlining areas for future study of the topic.