Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

DePauw University Archives & Special Collections

A brief guide to learn more about Archives & Special Collections.

Welcome!

           

Archives & Special Collections includes a variety of resources documenting the growth and development of DePauw University and the United Methodist Church in Indiana. The collection includes DePauw University publications, official records, and papers of faculty, staff, students, and alumni. Also included are publications created by the Indiana United Methodist Church, church histories, and directories. More information about the Indiana United Methodist Church collection can be found in the United Methodist Church LibGuide.

Special Notice: We've moved! You can find us in the Julian Science and Mathematics Center, classroom 111, while the Roy O. West Library is being renovated. 

Hours

Ending December 22 Appointment Only
December 23 - January 1  CLOSED
January 4 - 29 Noon - 5:00pm | Appointment Only
Beginning February 1   8:00 - 5:00pm | Appointment Only

We are closed on Saturdays and Sundays.

Reading Room By Appointment Only

Beginning August 31, 2020, the Archives & Special Collections reading room will be open by appointment only to DePauw University faculty, staff, and students with guidance from the DePauw University COVID-19 Operations Task Force. To schedule an appointment or receive research help, please email us.

If you'd like to schedule a virtual consultation with the University Archivist, please visit the DePauw University Libraries Research Help -- Appointment page. 

COVID-19 Research Visit Guidelines

  • Your research visit to Archives & Special Collections should be scheduled at least 24 to 48 hours in advance.
  • Reading room capacity has been reduced to adhere to physical distancing guidelines. The reading room can accommodate 2 researchers at any given time.
  • A mask or face covering must be worn at all times inside DePauw University Libraries. 
  • No materials will be retrieved within the last hour of closing.
  • Archives staff will gather collection materials 30 minutes prior to closing. Staff will properly quarantine materials and disinfect surfaces during this time.
  • Collection materials can be placed on hold for future use. Please contact Archives staff during your visit for more information.