Finding Articles - PSY 197A: FYS - Courageous Conversations: Scientific Explorations of Well-Being

Use these library subscription databases to access articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Great starting point, with something for every subject!
- What's included? Lots of full-text, mostly peer-reviewed and recent, with some older and popular sources.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You want to read summaries of previous research on a topic, giving you historical context and current understanding of the subject, as well as a list of sources to consult.
- What's included? Over 30,000 literature reviews in the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, dating back to 1932.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? It’s an excellent tool for scholarly articles and books/chapters from university presses, covering most disciplines.
- What's included? The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles covering 75 disciplines, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues - the coverage skews older, so it’s not always a great starting point for researching topics that need to have the most current sources.
Science Direct College Editions This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You are looking for full-text scholarly articles on science, education, psychology and business topics.
- What's included? Full-text of over 500 journal titles in the areas of science, technology, business and medicine.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You are searching for articles in the health and medical sciences.
- What's included? 26+ million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You're doing research in Psychology or Neuroscience.
- What's included? Coverage back to 1600s, from 2300 journals.

Google Scholar

General Science Magazines and News Sites

Science News: free website and on-campus access via EBSCO

The Scientist: free website and on-campus access via EBSCO

Scientific American and via JSTOR (back issues)

New Scientist: free website and on-campus access via EBSCO (30 day delay)

Discover: free website and on-campus access via EBSCO

American Scientist: back issues (1942-2016) are in JSTOR. 2002-present issues are in Academic Search Complete

Science Section of the New York Times

Subject Guide

Caroline Gilson

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

cgilson@depauw.edu

My office is in the Roy O. West Library (004B). We can meet in person at ROW Library or in Julian; we can talk via Google Chat or we can set up a Zoom meeting.

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry and Biochemistry, Computer Science, Geology & Environmental Geoscience, Global Health, Kinesiology, Mathematical Sciences, Physics and Astronomy

PSY 197A: FYS - Courageous Conversations: Scientific Explorations of Well-Being: Finding Articles

Welcome!

Use these library subscription databases to access articles

General Science Magazines and News Sites

Subject Guide