Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using this guide
This guide contains tips and links to places to find the full text and audio of speeches. If you need assistance with any of the resources, please ask a librarian!
Lend me your ears: great speeches in history
Roy O. West Library General Collection PN6122 .L4 1997
Voices of multicultural America: notable speeches delivered by African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native Americans, 1790-1995
Roy O. West Library General Collection PS663.M55 V64 1996
The world’s best orations, representing the development of civilization from the earliest times to the present
Roy O. West Library General Collection PN6121 .B85 1923
Representative American Speeches
Roy O. West Library General Collection PS668 .B3
You can search for recent speeches in our databases:
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
You can search for speeches by using the name or topic of the speech and the word speech.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Use the "Search the News" box to search for a person or type of speech and choose "All News" in the drop down box.
Once you have your search results, on the left hand side of the search results, choose "News Transcripts" under "Sources by Category."
You can find speeches given at DePauw using the following links.
These periodicals contain the full text of speeches.
Videos of Speeches
If you want to find videos of speeches, try searching on YouTube for the speaker or name of the speech.
Most of these websites contain the full text to speeches. A few of them also contain audio speeches or clips.