FIND YOUR SPOT
Place items you'd like to donate to the LGBTQIA+ Archives in a drawer, box, folder or table. Bring items to the Archives and Special Collections at the end of the semester or academic year. It's important to have a spot to store and organize as well as serve as a reminder to donate at a later time.
COMPILE
Ask yourself: what are you doing today, tomorrow, next week, and etc.? Your accomplishments, big or small, helps us provide context to what's happening on or off campus. Compile your history, whether it be on paper, by podcast, through social media, artwork, and etc. Send those items via email or drop them off with us.
TALK IT OVER
Discuss collecting efforts within your department, student organization and/or other affiliations. We're here to answer any questions you may have along the way.
SAMPLE MATERIALS WE'RE SEEKING
CONTACT US
We're more than happy to visit your department, meeting and/or event to provide a brief presentation about the LGBTQIA+ Archives and answer questions. Please contact us at least two weeks in advance by emailing: archives@depauw.edu.
The list below provides a direct link to LGBTQIA+ digitized material or the finding aid for viewing analog materials in the Archives and Special Collections reading room.
NEWSPAPERS
Historical issues of the student newspaper, yearbooks and alumni magazine have been digitized and are available online via the DePauw Digital Library.
An advanced search can be completed by clicking on 'Advanced Search' in the top right corner of the DePauw Digital Library. Narrow your search to the 'DePauw University - University Publications' digital collection. Sample search terms can include, but are not limited to, the following: GLBT, LGBT, gay, lesbian, sexuality, homosexual, trans, queer.
The DePauw Newspaper, 1920-2019*
The DePauw Newspaper, 2021-present
The DePauw student newspaper can trace its beginnings to Asbury Notes, a student-faculty collaborative work that started in 1852. The newspaper has been digitized with full-text searching back to 1970. Full issues are also available from 1932-1969 with selected-headline indexing only. Weekly issues from 2021-present are archived as a website and can be found on Archive-IT.
YEARBOOKS
Mirage Yearbook, 1884-2008
Yearbooks were published by the junior class and first appeared in 1884. Several times during the next decade and a half, the junior class failed to produce a yearbook. The 1908 publication was given the name Sombrero due to the class garb that year. The yearbook ceased publication in 2008.
MAGAZINES
DePauw Magazine and DePauw Alumnus magazine, 1936-present
The DePauw Alumnus was published by the DePauw Alumni Association and featured articles and commentary about DePauw as well as information on alumni and alumni-related events from 1936-1992. The DePauw Magazine (1993-present) is published at least twice a year and highlights the academic endeavors of students and faculty as well as alumni.
*Additional historical issues of DePauw's student newspapers from 1852-1919 are available in the DePauw Digital Library University Publications Digital Collection.
The list below includes LGBTQIA+ book titles located within the Archives and Special Collections. Most are written by DePauw authors, such as faculty, staff and alumni. All books located in the Archives General Collection must be viewed in the Archives and Special Collections reading room and do not circulate.
She looks just like you : a memoir of (nonbiological lesbian) motherhood by 
Living Faithfully Revised and Updated by 
The Deception of the Thrush by 
Asian American Studies after Critical Mass by 
Images of Ancient Greek Pederasty by 
