Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Items in our Collection
Songs of the Vietnam Conflict by
Offering the widest scope of any study of one of popular music's most important eras, "Songs of the Vietnam Conflict" treats both anti-war and pro-government songs of the 1960s and early 1970s, from widely known selections such as Give Peace a Chance and Blowin' in the Wind to a variety of more obscure works. These are songs that permeated the culture, through both recordings and performances at political gatherings and concerts alike, and James Perone explores the complex relationship between music and the society in which it is written. This music is not merely an indicator of the development of the American popular song; it both reflected and shaped the attitudes of all who were exposed to it. Whereas in previous wars, musicians rallied behind the government in the way of Aaron Copland and Samuel Barber, the Vietnam conflict provoked anger, frustration, and rage, all of which comes through in the songs of the time. This reference work provides indispensable coverage of this phenomenon, in chapters devoted to Anti-War Songs, Pro-Government Songs, and what might be called Plight-of-the-Soldier (or Veteran) songs. A selected discography guides the reader to the most notable recordings, all of which, together, provide a unique and important perspective on perhaps the 20th century's most contentious time.
Call Number: ML3477 .P45 2001
Publication Date: 2001-08-30
The Vietnam Experience by
The Vietnam War was one of the most painful and divisive events in American history. The conflict, which ultimately took the lives of 58,000 Americans and more than three million Vietnamese, became a subject of bitter and impassioned debate. The most dramatic--and frequently the most enduring--efforts to define and articulate America's ill-fated involvement in Vietnam emerged from popular culture. American journalists, novelists, playwrights, poets, songwriters, and filmmakers--many of them eyewitnesses--have created powerful, heartfelt works documenting their thoughts and beliefs about the war. By examining those works, this book provides readers with a fascinating resource that explores America's ongoing struggle to assess the war and its legacies. This encyclopedia includes 44 essays, each providing detailed information on an important film, song, or literary work about Vietnam. Each essay provides insights into the Vietnam-era experiences and views of the work's primary creative force, historical background on issues or events addressed in the work, discussion of the circumstances surrounding the creation of the work, and sources for further information. This book also includes an appendix listing of more than 275 films, songs, and literary works dealing with the war.
Call Number: DS557.73 .H55 1998
Publication Date: 1998-02-24
We Gotta Get Out of This Place by
For a Kentucky rifleman who spent his tour trudging through Vietnam's Central Highlands, it was Nancy Sinatra's "These Boots Are Made for Walkin'." For a "tunnel rat" who blew smoke into the Viet Cong's underground tunnels, it was Jimi Hendrix's "Purple Haze." For a black marine distraught over the assassination of Martin Luther King Jr., it was Aretha Franklin's "Chain of Fools." And for countless other Vietnam vets, it was "I Feel Like I'm Fixin' to Die," "Who'll Stop the Rain," or the song that gives this book its title. In We Gotta Get Out of This Place, Doug Bradley and Craig Werner place popular music at the heart of the American experience in Vietnam. They explore how and why U.S. troops turned to music as a way of connecting to each other and the World back home and of coping with the complexities of the war they had been sent to fight. They also demonstrate that music was important for every group of Vietnam veterans -- black and white, Latino and Native American, men and women, officers and "grunts" -- whose personal reflections drive the book's narrative. Many of the voices are those of ordinary soldiers, airmen, seamen, and marines. But there are also "solo" pieces by veterans whose writings have shaped our understanding of the war -- Karl Marlantes, Alfredo Vea, Yusef Komunyakaa, Bill Ehrhart, Arthur Flowers -- as well as songwriters and performers whose music influenced soldiers' lives, including Eric Burdon, James Brown, Bruce Springsteen, Country Joe McDonald, and John Fogerty. Together their testimony taps into memories -- individual and cultural -- that capture a central if often overlooked component of the American war in Vietnam.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016-01-31
Dear America : letters home from Vietnam
An authentic account of the Vietnam War from the actual letters of the men and women who served there. The harsh realities of life and death, friendships made and lost - these letters home tell it all, with newsreel and home-movie footage shot by the servicemen themselves. These are the authentic voices of war, some who survived, many who never made it home.
Call Number: DS559.5 .D43 1987
The Vietnam War by
"The Vietnam War: A Film by Ken Burns and Lynn Novick : Ken Burns and Lynn Novick's ten-part, 18-hour documentary series, The Vietnam War, tells the epic story of one of the most consequential, divisive, and controversial events in American history as it has never before been told on film. Visceral and immersive, the series explores the human dimensions of the war through revelatory testimony of nearly 80 witnesses from all sides -- Americans who fought in the war and others who opposed it, as well as combatants and civilians from North and South Vietnam. Ten years in the making, the series includes rarely seen, digitally re-mastered archival footage from sources around the globe, photographs taken by some of the most celebrated photojournalists of the 20th Century, historic television broadcasts, evocative home movies, and secret audio recordings from inside the Kennedy, Johnson and Nixon administrations. The Vietnam War features more than 100 iconic musical recordings from greatest artists of the era, and haunting original music from Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross as well as the Silk Road Ensemble featuring Yo-Yo Ma"--Publisher
Publication Date: 2017
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You want contemporary/recent news, reported from the minority press.
- What's included? Newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, predominately in the United States, 1959-present. Includes Asian-American, Jewish-American, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European-American, multi-ethnic communities and more.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need news from around the world.
- What's included? Articles from more than 800 U.S. and international newspapers; TV and radio news transcripts.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need sources for projects related to communication and media.
- What's included? Scholarly journal articles - 917 active indexed and abstracted journals, including full-text for 192 of them.
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need primary source material on world news, arts and culture, technology, science and more.
- What's included? Full text of the newspaper from 1851 to four years ago (new year added every January).
Additional Open Access Resources
About the Vietnam War (1960-75)
Created by the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, this resource includes a Vietnam War timeline.
The Modern American Poetry Site is a comprehensive learning environment and scholarly forum for the study of modern and contemporary American poetry.
Started as a multimedia companion to the Anthology of Modern American Poetry (Oxford University Press, 2000), MAPS has grown over the past decade to more than 30,000 pages of biographies, critical essays, syllabi and images relating to 161 poets.
Criticism can be viewed through the classic list of poets and through the new poet search page, where poets can be searched alphabetically, chronologically by birth date, by race/ethnicity, and by group/school of poetry.
Vietnam War Era Ephemera Collection
Selection, research and descriptive metadata for the Peoples Protest Database were completed by Kristin Kinsey and Abel Diaz in 2003-4. The text are selections from Vietnam War era ephemera collection of printed ephemera including pamphlets, posters, manifestos, newsletters, booklets, and open letters created by the various Seattle-area and University of Washington manifestations of American civil rights and protest movements of the late 1960's and 1970's. The material centers mainly around the Vietnam War, but includes much about feminism, racism, socialism, labor unions and the rights of farm workers, gay rights, environmental and economic boycotts of large corporations and agro-industry, prisoners' rights, and the Iranian revolution of 1979.
Foreign Relations of the United States: Johnson, 1964-1968 (State Dept)
Browse official documents from the published Foreign Relations of the United States series.
Civil Rights Digital Library
The struggle for racial equality in the 1950s and 1960s is among the most far-reaching social movements in the nation's history, and it represents a crucial step in the evolution of American democracy. The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.
Released by PBS, the companion website to Vietnam: A Television History.
Selected Documents from the Vietnam War: Gerald R. Ford Library
The 1974-77 Presidential papers of Gerald Ford and his White House staff form the core Ford Library collection in Ann Arbor. These are supplemented by the pre- and post-presidential papers of Gerald Ford, the papers of Betty Ford, collections of Federal records, and more. Former government officials have donated personal papers, researchers in the period have given copies of research interviews, and private individuals associated with the issues and events of the time have given their materials.
The Sixties and Protest Music
Forty years after it ended, the 1960s remains the most consequential and controversial decade of the twentieth century. It would dawn bright with hope and idealism, see the liberal state attain its mightiest reforms and reach, and end in discord and disillusionment. Many would remember it nostalgically, and perhaps many more would describe it as an era of irresponsible excess.
Get Up, Stand Up: Pop and Protest
Get Up, Stand Up: The Story of Pop and Politics is a 6x60 minutes documentary TV-series about the relationship between singers and politics in the USA, the UK, Germany and France from the 1960s until 2003. It was made in 2003 by Rudi Dolezal, Hannes Rossacher and Simon Witter as a joint production between German ZDF and the French-German culture channel Arte. It has since been shown by a number of other broadcasters in Europe, but also by Australia's ABC.
The series features interviews with well known singers and songwriters including Joan Baez, Tom Paxton, Bono, David Bowie, Johnny Cash, Daniel Cohn-Bendit, Bob Dylan, Ice-T, Bob Geldof, Willie Nelson, Roger Waters, Bruce Springsteen, Pete Seeger, and Neil Young.
This program is an investigation and a celebration - a reminder that pop can be so much more than "popular" music. By the second half of the 20th century, American popular music had become a dominant force in world culture. Many artists spoke out in song, harnessing the power of music to convey social dissatisfaction and political protest. The civil rights movement and the politicization of the baby boomer generation during the Vietnam War propelled protest music to the heights of main stream culture. This program chronicles in song this phenomenon; the critics and the singer/ songwriters themselves explain its history. The musical documentary acknowledges the commitment of individual artists , identifies the major trends that emerged within the past century and examines the issues that surrounded them.
The original PBS website is no longer available -- this is a link to a copy that has been saved on the Way Back Machine.