Skip to Main Content

HIST 278 - U.S. Women's History 1890 - present

This guide is for Sarah Rowley's Fall 2024 course.

Overview

This project will aid the Archives and Special Collections with students creating detailed, accurate biographical notes within selected finding aids. Students will learn firsthand how to research using primary and secondary sources to create standardized biographical information. The information will be added to the finding aid for posterity and students will be credited for their work. 

This guide provides the following:

  • research tips with a list of resources to begin your research
  • instructions on how to create standardized biographical information for archival finding aids
  • a list of finding aids with little to no biographical information for the assignment
  • a form to submit a request to view the collection in the Archives and Special Collections. 

If you have any questions along the way, please reach out to archives@depauw.edu.

Research Tips

Databases

The following databases are good places to begin your research:

  • Ancestry Institution 
    Locate birth, marriage, death dates, and more. A good place to begin your biographical research.
  • Find a Grave
    Locate birth and death dates, cemetery location and genealogy research. This is a crowdsourced database so entries may not be accurate.
  • ArchiveGrid
    You need primary and secondary sources for research. It includes over 7 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more.
  • Indiana State Library Legacy Index
    Index includes local history and vital records, such as: birth, marriage, death, divorce, obituaries, court records, military records, and more.
  • Hoosier State Chronicles
    Online access to digitized issues of Indiana's historic newspapers. 
  • America's Historical Newspapers 
    Includes historic newspapers from around the United States. The dates vary widely. 
  • Indianapolis Star (1903-2004)
    Full text of the Indianapolis Star from 1903-2004.

  • Academic Search Complete
    Great starting point, with something for every subject. It includes full-text, mostly peer-reviewed and recent, with some older and popular sources.

DePauw Archives-Related Resources

Digital Library
Provides access to digitized DePauw-related primary and secondary source material, such as letters, diaries, scrapbooks, newspapers, photographs, and more. 

  • Alumnal Record, 1920
    In 1920, an alumni directory was created by Martha J. Ridpath (class of 1879). The directory includes all those who attended Indiana Asbury, now DePauw, since 1884, including those who did not graduate. Each graduate has a separate numbered entry and the non-graduates are listed with their year of entry, school and home address. 
  • Commencement Programs
    Commencement programs from 1844-present are available to view online. These programs will include honorary award and degree information. 
  • Class Reunion Photographs (and Booklets)
    Booklets or programs are usually prepared by alumni classes holding reunions each year. These booklets can be found within "Class of.." collections (Example: Class of 1973 records, 10th reunion booklet; Class of 1966 records, 40th reunion booklet). Search the DePauw Archives Catalog to find class reunion booklets. Several class reunion photographs can be found in the DePauw Digital Library Archives and Documents Digital Collection.
  • DePauw Magazines
    The DePauw Alumnus was published by the DePauw Alumni Association and featured articles and commentary about DePauw as well as information on alumni and alumni-related events from 1936-1992. The DePauw Magazine (1993-present) is published three times a year and highlights the academic endeavors of students and faculty as well as alumni. Print magazines can be found in the Archives and Special Collections reading room.
  • Yearbooks
    Yearbooks were published by the junior class and first appeared in 1884. Several times during the next decade and a half, the junior class failed to produce a yearbook. The 1908 publication was given the name Sombrero. The yearbook ceased publication in 2008.

Additional Resources

Many public and special collection libraries and historical societies will have non-digitized files on people, places, events, and etc. within their holdings. Make sure to reach out to them for more information about individuals and any specifics on finding additional resources in the local area. 

The Indiana Historical Society and the Indiana State Library has a rich collection of women's history materials. The Indiana Historical Society has made a comprehensive guide of their women's history materials on their website. The Indiana State Library houses the records of many women's organizations. A filtered search of those collections can be found via their Manuscript Catalog. Both institutions continue to digitize their collections via the Indiana Historical Society Digital Repository and the Indiana State Library Digital Collections.

Archival Biography Note

Biographical Note Definition

What is a biographical note?
n.
    1. A narrative or chronology that provides context about the person or family that created records. 

In archival description, an administrative history often provides contextual information about corporate bodies whereas a biographical note provides contextual information about persons or families. For individuals, the biographical note may include date and place of birth, full and variant forms of the name, occupations, significant accomplishments, places of residence and work, family members, and date and place of death.

Source: Society of American Archivists website: https://dictionary.archivists.org/entry/biographical-note.html. Accessed: October 3, 2024.

Biographical Note Standards

  • At the beginning of the biographical history, provide a brief summary of the most relevant aspects of a person’s or family’s life. Include name, dates, profession, and geographic location.
  • Record the full name, title(s), married name(s), alias(es), pseudonym(s), and common or popular name(s) of persons.
  • For families, record information about the origin of the family and the names of persons forming it, including the facts of marriages, and the names of children.
  • For persons, record the dates or approximate dates of birth and death.
  • Indicate the geographical place(s) of residence of the person or family and the length of residence in each place, as well as any other place with which the person or family has a connection.
  • Record information about the formal education of persons, including members of families whose education is important to an understanding of their life.
  • Record information about the principal occupation(s) and career or lifework of persons or about the activities of families. Also indicate any other activities important to an understanding of the life of the person or family. Give information about significant accomplishments or achievements, including honors, decorations, and noteworthy public recognition.
  • Identify important relationships with other persons or organizations and indicate any office(s) held.
  • For families, describe family relationships that have a bearing on the understanding of the unit being described.
  • Record any other important information not recorded elsewhere in the biographical history.

Biographical Note Example

Bessye J. Bearden was born in Atlantic City, New Jersey, in 1891, the youngest child of George and Carrie Banks. She attended local schools in North Carolina, Hartshorn Memorial College in Richmond, and Virginia Normal and Industrial Institute, from which she graduated. In later years Mrs. Bearden did graduate work at the University of Western Pennsylvania and Columbia University.

At the age of 20, Bessye Banks married R. Howard Bearden. They had one son, Romare, who became an internationally renowned artist.

Mrs. Bearden managed the New York office of the E. C. Brown Real Estate Company of Philadelphia for many years. She was also the New York representative for the Chicago Defender, starting in 1927, and did freelance writing for other publications. On June 11, 1935, Mrs. Bearden was appointed Deputy Collector of Internal Revenue, serving first in the Processing Division and later as an auditor. In 1922 she was the first black woman to be elected to local School Board No. 15 in New York City, where she served until 1939.

Mrs. Bearden was involved in numerous civic activities and belonged to several organizations, among them the New York Urban League, where she served as secretary of the executive board; the Council of Negro Women, where she served as treasurer; and the executive boards of the Harlem Community Council and the Colored Women's Democratic League, of which she was the first president.

Mrs. Bearden died in September 1943 at Harlem Hospital in New York City.

Source: Describing Archives a Content Standard, Society of American Archivists, Github Edition: https://saa-ts-dacs.github.io/dacs/06_part_I/03_chapter_02/07_administrative_biographical_history.html. Accessed: October 3, 2024.

Finding Aid List

Below you'll find a list of finding aids that need standardized biographical information. A direct link to the collection's finding aid is provided so you can view its contents, dates, arrangement, and other administrative details.

Collection Request Form

Once you've selected which collection you'd like to work on, please complete this request form: 

HIST 278 Archives Collection Request Form

The deadline to submit this form is Tuesday, November 5th at 4:00pm. This allows Archives staff to pull the collection ahead of your next visit.