Finding Primary Sources - HIST 100 - Birth Control and Reproductive Justice

Newspapers

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need contemporary and recent news articles from recognized mainstream national and international major newspapers.
- What's included? Full-text news sources from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, video, podcasts, and digital-only websites from 1980s to present.
- Note: This includes the Indianapolis Star back to 1991 and the Indianapolis Business Journal back to 1985.

DePauw provides opportunities for all students, staff, and faculty to have access to the websites for the New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, and the Economist, with no limits or paywalls. Each one has its own way of having you establish your account, and the directions for each are on the guide linked below.

Accessing News & Newspapers Through DePauw Libraries

Women's Magazines

Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You want primary sources (magazine articles and advertisements) related to women’s lives in the past decades.
- What's included? Full text & page view of Better Homes & Gardens (1922 to 2005), Chatelaine (1928 to 2005), Cosmopolitan (1886 to 2005), Essence (1970 to 2005), Good Housekeeping (1885 to 2005), Ladies’ Home Journal (1885 to 2005), Parents (1926 to 2005), Redbook (1903 to 2005), Seventeen (1944 to 2005), Town and Country (1846 to 2005), Woman’s Day (1937 to 2005), and Women’s International Network News (1975 to 2003).

Other primary sources

Women & Social Movements US 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You want primary sources related to women’s activism in U.S. History.
- What's included? Full text from books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, etc. Records of women’s reform organizations throughout the United States during the 19th and early 20th centuries.

The Birth Control Review
Full text of volumes 1-13 (1917-1929). Founded and for many years edited by: Margaret Sanger. The official organ of the American Birth Control League
Birthing Reproductive Justice: 150 Years of Images and Ideas
From researchers at the University of Michigan his exhibit provides a visual narrative of the emergence and antecedents of reproductive justice.

Search these broader collections of primary sources for specific topics:

National Library of Medicine Digital Collections
Digital Collections provides access to the National Library of Medicine's distinctive digital content in the areas of biomedicine, health care and the history of medicine.
The Medical Heritage Library
The Medical Heritage Library, Inc. is a collaborative digitization and discovery organization committed to providing open access to the history of medicine and health resources. (no longer actively adding to the collection, but it remains available)

Websites for Reproductive Justice Organizations

There will be a wide range of how much content is available on these organization websites.

Center for Reproductive Rights
The Center for Reproductive Rights is a global human rights organization of lawyers and advocates who ensure reproductive rights are protected in law as fundamental human rights for the dignity, equality, health, and well-being of every person.
National Latina Institute for Reproductive Justice
National Latina Institute for Reproductive Justice fights for equal access to reproductive health for Latina/x communities because all of us should have the power to make informed decisions about our bodies, families, and futures.
Sister Song: Women of Color Reproductive Justice Collective
SisterSong is a Southern based, national membership organization; our purpose is to build an effective network of individuals and organizations to improve institutional policies and systems that impact the reproductive lives of marginalized communities.
Religious Community for Reproductive Justice
Rooted in sacred, moral, and reproductive justice values, RCRC is a multifaith, intersectional, and antiracist movement for reproductive freedom and dignity leading in spiritual companionship, curating frameworks for faith leaders, and training the next generation of activists.
CATALYSTS Africa
We are an African-led alliance, committed to championing quality abortion care across the continent by uniting and amplifying African voices.
In Our Own Voice: National Black Women's Reproductive Justice Agenda
In Our Own Voice: National Black Women’s Reproductive Justice Agenda is a national-state partnership focused on lifting up the voices of Black women leaders at the national and regional levels in our fight to secure Reproductive Justice for all women, girls, and gender-expansive individuals. Our eight strategic partners are Black Women for Wellness, Black Women’s Health Imperative, New Voices for Reproductive Justice, SisterLove, Inc. SisterReach, SPARK Reproductive Justice NOW, The Afiya Center and Women With A Vision.
Fòs Feminista
We are dedicated to expanding access to rights-based sexual and reproductive health care, including contraceptive services, STI detection and treatment, cancer screening and treatment, care for survivors of gender-based violence, and safe abortion services; reaching young people with comprehensive sexuality education; and advocating for sexual and reproductive justice. Our approach of building feminist solidarity among organizations across the Global South is central to achieving this mission.
Reproductive Freedom for All
Reproductive Freedom for All organizes and mobilizes our 4 million members to fight for access to abortion, birth control, paid parental leave, and protections from pregnancy discrimination.
APA for Sexual & Reproductive Health and Rights
APA is a network of national, regional and global civil society organizations that advocate for the fulfilment of sexual and reproductive health and rights (SRHR) for all persons in the Asia Pacific region.
Inter-Agency Working Group on Reproductive Health in Crises
We are an international coalition of organizations and individuals working collectively to advance sexual and reproductive health and rights in humanitarian settings.