Skip to main content

COMM 315 - Latin American Theatre

This guide is for Tim Good's Spring 2020 class.

Encyclopedia for Background Information

From the syllabus, in Professor Good's words: "Encyclopedias are useful aids as a FIRST STOP, to help you find your way into a topic you know little or nothing about, but are not useful as primary or secondary sources which will spur on your own research.  One encyclopedia can “count” for the annotated bib, if needed, but it will carry light credibility as a reference in the final research paper."

Finding e-books

Due to the current remote access limitations, you'll want to restrict your book searches to e-books. Use the search box below to search WorldCat Discovery. Then, look at the ways to limit below the search box.

 

To only see "e-books," you can use the limits on the left side of the page. Under the "Format" category, scroll down - you'll likely have to click on a "Show More" option. 

Then, you should see the "e-book" box to check.

Likely, you will see books that DePauw has access to near the top of the list, with an option to view full-text. If you see one that looks really helpful, and it's not owned by DePauw, please email me at thebb@depauw.edu, and let me see if there's any chance we can get access to it. 

Finding Journal Articles

You'll want to use library databases to find reliable material for at least some of your resources. When it doubt if a source is a "good" one, know that if you use "scholarly/academic/peer-review" limit options in the databases, you're almost certain to get sources that will carry more weight, in that they've been written by and reviewed by experts in their fields, and are generally making a new claim/argument, or reporting new research studies. 

NOTE: We will still try to fill interlibrary loan (ILL) requests for electronic copies of articles. If you don't see full-text for an article, use the "FindIt" button to see if it's in another database, and if it doesn't find it, it will give you an ILL option. Please email with any questions about how this works! 

Spanish-language databases: If you're fluent in Spanish, there are a few other resources that might be worth trying. 

 

Citing sources

Check out our citation guide for any questions you may have. 

Getting help with your research

We can help you with research in the following ways:
  • email library@depauw.edu and a librarian will begin a conversation with you about your research question and talk through search strategies and sources in back-and-forth messages. 
  • Set up an appointment with a librarian at http://libcal.depauw.edu/appointments. You will be prompted to select whether you prefer a Google Meet or phone option. Tiffany Hebb is also offering Zoom meetings as an option.
  • Use the LibChat (chat box on the right side of screen) or text (765.356.9171). As of Sunday 3/22, it will be staffed the following hours (all Eastern Time): 
    • Sundays 2 - 5 & 7 - 10pm
    • Mondays - Thursdays  9am to 5pm & 7 - 10pm
    • Fridays 9am to 5pm
    • Librarians watch the chat on weekdays and Sunday evenings, and a Peer Research Consultant on Sunday afternoons and M-Th evenings.