Why search here? You want contemporary/recent news, reported from the minority press, or scholarly journals in Ethnic Studies.
What's included? Newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, predominately in the United States, 1959-present. Includes Asian-American, Jewish-American, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European-American, multi-ethnic communities and more.
Why search here? You need access to an Indiana newspaper title and/or specific articles for historical research.
What's included? Digitized newspapers from each Indiana county spanning from 1804-2010. Access to the Indianapolis Recorder, a weekly African-American published local newspaper, ranging from 1899-2005.
Why search here? You need access to a newspaper title and/or specific articles for historical research.
What's included? Access to digitized newspapers published in America from 1777-1963 as well as the United States Newspaper Directory from 1690-Present.
Why search here? You keep hitting the “you’ve read more than your 5 free articles” message.
What's included? Access the New York Times daily newspaper on your computer, smartphone or tablet. (Note: this will not work on Kindle readers, only Kindle Fire.) Get the news each day along with other digital-only content via the web or the NYT app. All you need is your @depauw.edu email address to register.
The DePauw Libraries provides access to the New York Times via a campus site license. Anyone with a current DePauw email account can sign up for a NYT account and get access to the paper and archives on web browser and NYT mobile apps. Find out more about how to set up your account (or renew your access) here. '
Why search here? You want primary sources related to women’s activism in U.S. History.
What's included? Full text from books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, etc. Records of women’s reform organizations throughout the United States during the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Why search here? You are looking for scholarly legal articles or legislative information.
What's included? Legal research collection of current and historical materials, including full-text law journals and texts.
Note:Titles in specific journals in HeinOnline do not seem to link correctly when accessed through the library search interface. If you are getting an error page for a title, consider using HeinOnline from the A-Z page to locate the title.
Why search here? You’re researching topics related to sex, sexuality, or gender in history.
What's included? Primary sources in a few subcollections related to LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, Sex and Sexuality 16th-20th Century, International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture, and L'Enfer de la Bibliothèque nationale de France.
Why search here? You want primary sources (magazine articles and advertisements) related to women’s lives in the past decades.
What's included? Full text & page view of Better Homes & Gardens (1922 to 2005), Chatelaine (1928 to 2005), Cosmopolitan (1886 to 2005), Essence (1970 to 2005), Good Housekeeping (1885 to 2005), Ladies’ Home Journal (1885 to 2005), Parents (1926 to 2005), Redbook (1903 to 2005), Seventeen (1944 to 2005), Town and Country (1846 to 2005), Woman’s Day (1937 to 2005), and Women’s International Network News (1975 to 2003).
Enter a keyword to be searched in the search box, then the word AND
Type one of the following terms/phrases after the AND.
sources
personal narratives
diaries
correspondence
journals
interviews
For example: "cold war" and correspondence
Note: By default, this also searches a ton of other libraries - not just DePauw's
Interlibrary loan may be more difficult with primary source material, as some of these sources are rare, fragile, and/or located in Special Collections and may not be loaned.
Don't forget to check "regular" books. Even if the book is a secondary source, they may provide citations to primary source documents in their bibliographies.
