Skip to Main Content
Your Librarian
Kayla Flegal
she/her/hers
Subjects: Africana Studies,
Asian Studies,
Business,
Classical Studies,
Economics and Management,
Education Studies,
English,
History,
Latin American and Caribbean Studies,
Modern Languages,
Peace and Conflict Studies,
Philosophy,
Political Science,
Psychology and Neuroscience,
Religious Studies,
Sociology and Anthropology,
Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
Recommended Databases
-
JSTOR
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? It’s an excellent tool for scholarly articles and books/chapters from university presses, covering most disciplines.
- What's included? The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles covering 75 disciplines, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues - the coverage skews older, so it’s not always a great starting point for researching topics that need to have the most current sources.
-
MLA International Bibliography
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? This is the principal resource for scholarship in languages, linguistics and literature.
- What's included? Full-text articles from scholarly journals, citations for books and dissertations, proceedings, essays and bibliographies are international in scope. The Thesaurus identifies terminology appearing in current scholarship to create more precise searches. Folklore, the history of printing and publishing, dramatic arts, film and broadcasting are also included.
-
Project Muse
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need scholarly articles on the humanities and social sciences.
- What's included? Project Muse is a collection of established and longstanding scholarly journals in full-text for humanities and social sciences journals. Strengths of this collection include its caliber of content with historical and the current holdings.
-
Cambridge Companions Online
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You’d like to find a book that provides an overview of a complex topic, person, or time period.
- What's included? Authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.
-
Google Scholar
This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need a variety of scholarly and professional sources like journal articles, books, reports, and proceedings.
- What's included? Information about published sources, sometimes with links to the full-text, covering most disciplines.
- Note:Follow these instructions to set your Google Scholar settings for access to DePauw's Full Text when available: Google Scholar FAQ
