LibGuides: CSC 498: Computer Science Senior Seminar: Databases

Databases

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need sources for computer science research..
- What's included? Publications from the Association of Computing Machinery plus other computer science scholarly sources.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Great starting point, with something for every subject!
- What's included? Lots of full-text, mostly peer-reviewed and recent, with some older and popular sources.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You need a variety of scholarly and professional sources like journal articles, books, reports, and proceedings.
- What's included? Information about published sources, sometimes with links to the full-text, covering most disciplines.
- Note:Follow these instructions to set your Google Scholar settings for access to DePauw's Full Text when available: Google Scholar FAQ
Science Direct College Editions This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You are looking for full-text scholarly articles on science, education, psychology and business topics.
- What's included? Full-text of over 500 journal titles in the areas of science, technology, business and medicine.
Dissertations: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You want to read graduate student dissertations and theses on a topic - often giving you extensive bibliographies, and occasionally cutting edge research on new topics.
- What's included? Index of doctoral dissertations and some master's theses from most North American and many European colleges and universities. Starts in 1743. Full text is available for over 1 million, mostly since 1996.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? You want to read summaries of previous research on a topic, giving you historical context and current understanding of the subject, as well as a list of sources to consult.
- What's included? Over 30,000 literature reviews in the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, dating back to 1932.
SpringerLink Journals This link opens in a new window
- Why search here? Full-text scholarly articles in all areas of science and some areas of social sciences from 1997 to present.
- What's included? Over 1,600 full-text Springer journals in the following fields: behavioral science, biomedical & life sciences, business & economics, chemistry, computer science, earth & environmental science, humanities, social sciences & law, mathematics & statistics, and medicine. Coverage starts in 1997 or later and continues to the present.

More E-Resources

arXiv.org
Open access preprints. (The term preprint most often refers to a manuscript that has gone through an initial review and now awaits full peer-review and publication in a traditional journal. A preprint accessible over the Web may also be referred to as an e-print.)
HAL
HAL is: a software, a unique and multidisciplinary repository, a shared platform for more than 140 institutional archives of universities and research organizations, an open repository dedicated to Human and Social Sciences (HAL-SHS), an open repository for the dissemination of PhD thesis and an open repository for visual and audio data (MediHAL).
Browzine - Engineering & Technology
dblp
The dblp computer science bibliography is the online reference for bibliographic information on major computer science publications. It has evolved from an early small experimental web server to a popular open-data service for the whole computer science community. The mission at dblp is to support computer science researchers in their daily efforts by providing free access to high-quality bibliographic meta-data and links to the electronic editions of publications.

As of January 2024, dblp indexes over 7 million publications, published by more than 3.4 million authors. To this end, dblp indexes about than 55,000 journal volumes, more than 55,000 conference and workshop proceedings, and more than 140,000 monographs.
CORE
CORE is the world’s largest aggregator of open access research papers from repositories and journals
IEEE Xplore
A digital library that provides access to scientific and technical content, including journal articles, conference proceedings, technical standards, and more

Technical Reports

Science.gov
Science.gov is an official website of the U.S. government providing ready access to the massive stores of federally funded scientific research results, without needing to know which agency funded the research. Research results include scientific and technical reports, peer-reviewed scholarly publications, digital data, software, conference presentations and proceedings, and other scientific and technical information that federal agencies publish resulting from their research investments.
NTRL
The National Technical Information Service acquires, indexes, abstracts, and archives the largest collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports in existence. The NTRL offers online, free and open access to these authenticated government technical reports. Technical reports and documents in its repository may be available online for free either from the issuing federal agency, the U.S. Government Publishing Office’s Federal Digital System website, or through search engines.
Berkeley Technical Reports: Electrical Engineering & Computer Sciences
The EECS Technical Memorandum Series provides a dated archive of EECS research. It includes Ph.D. theses and master's reports as well as technical documents that complement traditional publication media such as journals. For example, technical reports may document work in progress, early versions of results that are eventually published in more traditional media, and supplemental information such as long proofs, software documentation, code listings, or elaborated examples.
IBM
Source for current topics in computer science